A Faith Greater than Fear

Suzanne Shaheen
Multiplier Magazine
2 min readJan 6, 2018

Is there something you really want to do in life but you just can’t seem to make the move to do it? What’s stopping you from taking action? Is it your fear of failure, fear that people will talk about you? Fear that things wont go as planned? Fear of succeeding? These fears are all legitimate, but at the end of your life you’ll regret the things you didn’t do, more than the things that you did do (even if there were failures).

In October, 2017, I decided that my faith in the universe (and myself) was greater than my fear of leaving a comfortable position in Higher Education. Although I enjoyed the actual position, I was placed under the supervision of managers who had ZERO concept of customer service or leadership. These managers saw my growth as a threat and would not let me execute my ideas which could’ve helped more than harmed.

I walked into work one morning and told my boss that working with them “doesn’t work for me anymore” and left the same day. What was wrong with me? This was completely out of my character and something I never did. I left the office that day with zero fucks given. I was determined to control my own future. To be my own boss.

In the few months that followed, I decided it was finally time to get into real estate. There couldn’t have been a better time. I had taken the classes needed to get my real estate license in 2006 and 2007, but I never registered for the state exam and I let the credits expire. I was too afraid of having to generate my own clientele. In addition, I was afraid to leave a position where someone else was signing off on my paycheck. Life is so much easier when you know you can do great work or mediocre work and still get a paid the same at the end of the week. In December of 2017, I took the classes I needed for my license and passed the real estate licensing exam within 3 weeks.

Although I can’t predict what the future holds, I see great things coming and most importantly, I am happy. Happy to be in control of my own future. Happy to not have to answer to anyone. Happy to not have to worry about being marked late for getting a coffee before work and arriving at 8:35am instead of 8:30am. Happy for all the opportunities coming my way, all the people I will get to meet, but most of all, happy to have the time to serve my clients, family and community at my own discretion.

I am not suggesting that everyone go out and quit their jobs, but what I am suggesting is that you figure out what you want in life and RUN WITH IT. Time is fleeting. Let your faith be greater than your fear.

-xo-

SKS

--

--

Suzanne Shaheen
Multiplier Magazine

Entrepreneur, Realtor, Motivational Coach & Activist with a passion for Business, Real Estate, Travel, & Humanity. www.napsandsnacks.org www.suzanneshaheen.com