What’s a Good Day? / Three feelings I’m looking for on a daily basis.

Ariel Constantinof
Multiplier Magazine
4 min readJan 16, 2018
This is my cat, Cita, and she always seems to be having a good day…

Yesterday I’ve had my second ever float tank experience.

A float tank is, well, a tank filled with water. The catch is that the water’s temperature is equal to your body’s temperature, thus you can’t really feel temperature differences between the part of your body that’s in the water, and the part that’s outside.

You float because the water is mixed with tons of special salt.

The thing is: you float with zero effort, in perfect darkness and silence for at least one hour. And that’s exactly what I’ve done yesterday, for the second time ever.

What happens during that hour?

A “float tank” is also known as an “isolation tank”, simply because you are isolating all your senses as much as you can.

All that’s left “to do” is what’s going on inside your head.

So yesterday, for one full hour, I’ve been floating in darkness, letting my brain go from one thought to another, just like a bee flying from flower to flower.

It felt as if I had some things I had to think about and my brain would automatically point out to them. Those where ongoing thoughts “in the back of my head”. Things that needed my attention, but I had no time to offer till yesterday in that tank.

My “brain bee” would just fly from thought to thought, give me just enough time to have somewhat of an “Eureka! moment” with each thought and then move on.

But there was a moment when I had no more thoughts to think about. It felt “blank”. But it also felt “complete”. Like the mission was accomplished.

She acts as if her day is perfect no matter what day it is!

That’s when I asked myself “What’s a good day?”…

I was there, in perfect darkness, floating and floating and floating in all those possible positions (just like my cat Cita sleeps around in all those weird positions) and I had this question for myself … “What’s a good day?”

Because I figured there are times I declare my day is bad.

And I know for a fact I totally hate having bad days.

So what triggers my declaration of a bad day?

Or, reverse-thinking, what stops me from triggering my declaration?

I was still there, still floating, when I tried to come up with a list of feelings and things I can actually do to that make my day a “good day”.

1. Feel productive

(Create something everyday, no matter how big or small.)

2. Feel smarter than yesterday

(Learn something new everyday.)

3. Feel loved

(Have daily social interaction.)

Those three feelings came up instantly. But then I just couldn’t come up with anything else, which felt weird…

Because on a daily basis my Google Calendar is full of tasks I sometimes do my best to avoid. Tasks that somehow work together to make me achieve the three feelings, but probably not enough.

This pic. is almost pr0n.

I figured I’ve never decided what a good day meant to me.

Till now I’d talk about good days and bad days, without ever taking my time to think about what a good or a bad day even really means to me.

And deciding your day is “bad” just because of the weather is stupid. Saying it out loud is even stupider. Old news, right?

I hope someday to be a genius…

And figure out a way to have daily activities that, combined all-in-one, can generate the three daily feelings I’m looking for.

That’s why people are trying to make “work” fun. To be “passionate” about what they do. That’s why HR team do their best to create great teams, for a good dose of daily social interaction, right?

Someday I’ll figure a way to create something through learning something new with the help of loved ones. Almost sounds like a family business to me.

Cita and “reality” out the window.

Anyway, talking about my cat…

She never seems to have bad days. She is always content. She is always chill. She looks as if she enjoys her time no matter what she does. She floats around my apartment doing nothing, but looking as if she finished her daily Google Calendar tasks.

I gotta’ learn shit from my cat.

And I gotta’ start deciding that my days are freakin’ good.

PS: Yes, I think the float tank is magic. Magic time with yourself that these days you can’t really get. :)

PS2: If you like my pics. with Cita, enjoy my Instagram. :)

--

--

Ariel Constantinof
Multiplier Magazine

🔥 Founder of www.WEIRDO.one // full-time human being, traveling the 🌎 and spreading ❤️.