Motherhood and The Art of Letting Go

Juliet Lara
Mum Hug
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2022
Photo by J. Balla Photography on Unsplash

Motherhood has a way of surprising and challenging me at the same time. One of those constant challenges is the art of letting go.

Take, for example, learning to breastfeed my firstborn and then, one day, as she ages. She decided she no longer needed it.

Letting it all go.

Another is the seemingly unstoppable way my new baby grows: I’m throwing small clothes away and getting new baby clothes every month. I know I can’t hold on to her as a baby for long.

Letting it all go.

Or when another mum mum-shamed me for being unable to leave my firstborn for a night out, then me feeling guilty in many ways.

Letting it all go.

Letting it go is a theme of Motherhood, and no matter how much you think you’re good at adapting to change, it will always have a way of challenging you.

One realisation came this week as I took my daughter to her toddler dance class. For the first time in a month of coming to the class, she finally agreed that I could step away from the room. Yes, we definitely both need a lesson in letting go in this area!

Something happened when I stepped away from that room. My daughter hardly noticed that I was gone, nor did she see that I had come back! She seemed to have relaxed more in the class, and more importantly, I felt more relaxed. I didn’t need to worry about whether she was paying attention, following her teachers, or staying hydrated.

I didn’t need to worry, and in not needing to worry — I didn’t have to make it all personal.

My child was ok, and I was ok.

Letting it all go.

We, as mothers, have different levels of tolerance for letting go. Mine will differ from yours. Once you do let go, you’ll realise how empowering it can be for you and your child. As they craft their own journey, you forge a new one for yourself.

Let it go.

--

--