Beck’s Gonna Be at the Tableau Conference!

I already have an idea of one song he can perform

Marmi Le
Mundane Stuff Is Interesting

--

Just one section of a collage I made 23 years ago. I cut up old music posters and put it in a nice frame. Pictured is the robot from Beck’s Mellow Gold album, surrounded by members of Radiohead, Suede, and Ned’s Atomic Dustbin. Photo by the author (Marmi Le)

I have been a fan of Beck ever since seeing the video for his starmaking hit Loser on my version of church back in the early 90s, 120 Minutes:

And ever since then, he just kept getting cooler. Beck ended his string of high quality albums in the 90s with Midnite Vultures, containing what has to be in my top 2 or 3 of his songs ever, “Debra.” I never fail to smile upon hearing the lyrics

I wouldn’t do you like that Zankou Chicken

I’m gonna take you up to Glendale
Gonna take you for a real good meal

because I honestly miss having real good meals at the Zankou Chicken in Glendale, where I lived for five years. Or the Zankou Chicken on East Sunset in Little Armenia. Or the Pasadena one. Really any of their locations, of which there are ZERO in Colorado. If you put a “quarter dark” plate in front of me right now, I swear I could down it in 1.5 minutes, tops.

--

--