a game about depression: looking for collaborators

Hsiao Wei (Michelle) Chen
MuniReality
Published in
2 min readJun 12, 2017

So I have a project on HitRecord:

Last month was Mental Health Awareness month. A lot of people who suffer from depression don’t talk about it or don’t seek help, because of different reasons.

I’m personally one of those people. I wake up every morning and put a smile on my face before I go out, even though most of the time I feel like…

A rain cloud above my head… A wave crashing into rocks… Or drowning… With no way of swimming back to the shore…

I want to be able to talk about it. I need to be able to talk about it. And I’d like other people to know that they can talk about it too. And that it’s okay to not to be okay. And it’s okay to seek help.

As a final project for the Masters degree that I’m doing, I am required to make a game.

So I thought, why not hit two birds with one stone?

Use a game as my medium to talk about my feelings, in the same way that writers write. It is a way of expression. It is a way of making people feel things. And I think in that way, games are quite powerful (I accidentally said “more powerful” in the video, I’m sorry >.<, different mediums actually can’t be compared, one is definitely not better than another).

But I’m a programmer and a game designer, but I’m not a very good artist, nor am I much of a writer, and I don’t make music at all.

So I thought, why not get other people involved?

Link: https://www.hitrecord.org/projects/3223403/interests/all

--

--