When Venezuela Accused Me of Being a Terrorist

Detained and extorted by Venezuelan Intelligence on the border

Joshua Collins
Muros Invisibles

--

An official from Sebin, with an exposed skull face stands in a dark cell
“Venezuelan Death Squad” Composite image (Joshua Collins)

“Do you know it’s a 10-year minimum sentence for espionage and another 10 for terrorism?” said the officer from SEBIN, the political police charged with persecuting and torturing those considered threats to the Venezuelan regime.

I had heard a lot of stories about SEBIN during my time reporting on Venezuela — none of them good.

He paused, staring at me. His manner was poised- his posture perfect. He adjusted his wire-frame glasses.

“Of course, we will have to charge your friend with sedition, treason and perhaps espionage as well. It will be more difficult for him than for you.”

He made the threat as if he were commenting on the weather- his manner detached and terrifyingly polite.

He began fiddling with my phone, scrolling through my text messages. “What kind of information does your friend pass to you?” he asked.

An hour before, I was detained on the Venezuelan border while working as a journalist.

Now I was being accused of being a spy and a terrorist.

All of the stories of torture and violence in Venezuelan prisons I had heard in the last two years swirled…

--

--

Joshua Collins
Muros Invisibles

A reporter on immigration and world affairs, based in Cucuta, Colombia. Bylines at Al Jazeera, Caracas Chronicles, New Humanitarian and more