See, My Treasure Throve (Of Pebbles)

Photo by Parizan Studio on Unsplash

Dear Reader,

Kindly stay for AT LEAST 30 SECONDS. Don’t kill the writers’ read ratio.

Non-Medium subscribers, read this story here β€” FREE.

Just back from school, my young man walked straight into my room.

β€œKnock, knock, knock.”

No other family member knocks on my bedroom door that way. Only my man-to-be does that.

With my eyes still glued to the story I was drafting on my glowing candy bar. I replied, "Yes, come right in."

Announcing his presence, he walked straight towards the window.

"Grandpa, good afternoon."

Welcome, are you back? As if the answer wasn’t staring at me - oxymoronic.

"Yes."

What is that in your hand?

He was going to drop another pebble of stone into my collection.

For an answer, he raised the stone to my view as he retraced his steps back towards me in my seat.

"See, I picked up this one for you on my trek back from school."

I received my new gift. One of his several similar past gifts.

--

--