Mergence

Chantell
Muse Me
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2021

A poem

Photo by Genessa Panainte on Unsplash

We were standing together
Only three of us
Deep in conversation
When you showed up
You said hello to him.

The way you spoke told me
That you knew him
You said hello to her.

Grasping her hand into both of yours
Displaying a gentleness
I haven’t seen in a while
I felt left out
I felt ignored
Am I invisible among a crowd?
Am I so repulsive?
I start to doubt
You glance my way
As if to say
I haven’t forgotten that you’re standing here
Still in conversation but I’m getting near
I’m seeing you
I’m feeling you
Just waiting for an opening
A way through
I know you feel uneasy
What can I do?
Just be patient, child
We’ll get naked, child

I’ll strip your heart wide open
Make you vulnerable
Discard the lies you tell that
Keep you comfortable
Your tears start to flow
As gently as the snow
Being real don’t come easy
It takes courage, friend
But once you’ve seen its fruits
You’ll want more, my friend
They’re ripe and ready now
Famished, you start to growl.

Unleash the flame within
It’s ready to be seen
To open up the hearts
Of souls still in the dark
To bring joy to the lands
Have people singing chants
Rid them of all concerns
That keep them stuck in pretend
Remind them of what’s important
Through dance and inspiring stories
Help them examine and ponder
About the way things were
About the way things are
About the ways we can choose
Choose how we want things to be
It’s up to you and me
To carve our destiny

Are you listening, child?
Pay close attention, child.
No one can live for you
No one can breathe for you
No one can speak for you
No one can think for you
No one can change for you
Only you, it’s true
It’s just my point of view
Do with it what you will
In the end you’ll find
What’s true.

--

--

Chantell
Muse Me

Writer, Dancer, Nature Lover, Book Worm. Instagram: chantie_enchanted