Class Photo Talks New Music and STRFKR Influence

musemag
musemag
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2019

Album set to be released November 8th.

Interview and Introduction by Carina Ortiz

Patrick Morris’ latest project Class Photo is expected to release its debut album Light Years Later on November 8th of this year via Jansen Records.

Class Photo was created shortly after leaving the hipster indie-pop band STRFKR in 2014. Morris had the need to create and write on his own, but wasn’t able to with the former band’s relentless touring and go-go-go lifestyle.

His solo project so far sounds like a colorful, indie-pop-filled gem that invokes a breath of fresh air. The single “Yeah You Break (My Heart)” follows two others that were released earlier this year via 9AM Records — “I’ve Been Cleaning Your Room” and “Hard Conversation.” Both of these tracks are upbeat songs of melodic mix that tackle very different subjects. “Hard Conversation” being about dealing with the loss of a parent.

The majority of Light Years Later was self-recorded in his garage at his Los Angeles residence although he’s now based in his wife’s home country of Norway. Morris collaborated with friends on the project, including percussionist Billy Delelles (Shallou, Chrome Sparks) and actress/artist Jacqueline Kim.

We sat down with Patrick Morris to discuss his upcoming project.

Q: Congrats on the release of “Yeah You Break (My Heart)”, what is this song about for you?

A: Thank you! A few years ago my father died of Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis. Lyrically, I wrote the song to my dad, a man who led a full life, who was loved in his community, and who excelled in his profession.

Q: Your upcoming album Light Years Later was mostly recorded in Los Angeles, in what ways would you say the city has influenced your work?

A: One thing that you always hear about LA, and it’s pretty much true, is that you need a car to get around. When I moved to LA I hardly knew anyone (I moved from Portland, Oregon). It’s hard to make friends in LA. No one wants to drive 2 hours just to hang out for 2 hours, and I so I felt pretty locked-in inside my little neighborhood in Venice. It gave me a great deal of solitary time to work on Class Photo in my garage though. I think the sunshine also affected me. It gets you outside, listening and looking. Walking around Venice and down to the beach was a sun-drenched dream.

Q: As an artist, how would you distinguish CLASS PHOTO from other bands today?

A: I don’t hear a lot of bands copying the 90’s alternative rock genre at the moment, but I feel like that will change in a minute or two. Guitar solos aren’t very common in pop anymore either, or guitars at all for that matter. What happened? Ableton Live, you say? Awesome soft synths, perhaps? I think that in small ways I’m still trapped in the analog world. Everything I do gets worked out on an old drum machine, a guitar, and a pre-MIDI synthesizer. All these instruments are more limited, but I gotta do what’s more fun for me, and I enjoy the tactile quality of these instruments.

Q: What’s one message you’d like for your listeners to take away from CLASS PHOTO?

A: Somebody else described Class Photo as ‘introverted, minimal electro-funk,’ which is a neatly packaged take away that I’d like listeners to get from Class Photo. Dance and have fun. Be compassionate and kind to others while you’re on this earth. Ask questions.

Q: I have to ask, did STRFKR influence your solo project at all, or was CLASS PHOTO an opportunity for you to create something of your own?

A: Both are true! Sorry if that sounds like I’m avoiding the question. But for sure, STRFKR influenced my solo project. I got inspiration from being in that band for 3+ years. And yes! Class Photo is definitely an opportunity to create my own music. One thing I got from STRFKR was that while writing a song, you must pay attention to the feel of the song, and try and sense what should be added in order to add to that feeling. When I write music, I tend to spend just as much time truly listening as writing. The most exciting part of being a musician for me is writing, and so Class Photo is absolutely a chance to make something of my own.

Q: How soon can we expect a tour after the album release? We’re very excited for the album by the way.

A: We have a show booked in Oslo next month, that’s November 15th at Revolver. In the works are shows in Bergen and Trondheim next year, and possibly some more remote locations. Follow us on the Spotify machine and the Facebook computer to keep up to date on that! Thank you so much! I am so excited to drop this album as well. We’ll have vinyl with us in Oslo and when we get out on the road next year!

Expect Light Years Later to be released on November 8th. Stream Class Photo’s latest single here.

Light Years Later Track List

  1. Intro
  2. 2. Yeah You Break (My Heart)
  3. 3. I’ve Been Cleaning Your Room
  4. 4. Metallic Shades
  5. 5. Does The Cap Fit
  6. 6. Intermede D’Incertitude
  7. 7. Foreign Pictures
  8. 8. Hard Conversation
  9. 9. Magic Energy
  10. 10. Driving In A Storm
  11. 11. Keyboards On Her Fingers
  12. 12. Narrow Escape
  13. 13. Hold Music

--

--

musemag
musemag
Editor for

Musemag was created for overly-enthusiastic music lovers everywhere.