POETRY ON MEDIUM

Damned Angel

For the one lurking in the shadows

Daphne Ayo
MuserScribe

--

Photo by Patrick Hawlik on Unsplash

This is a poem from my “Damned Angel” anthology (not published… yet). I’m still in the process of looking for its audience.

When you put your soiled hands on my soul, what did you expect?

For whom did you offer your sacrifices to the gods?

For what did you pray?

To be cleansed?

Redemption?

I am no angel.

I was, once.

How do you unreconcile aromas from memories and past sins?

You’ve only watered my demons,

You’ve given room for my fears and insecurities to bloom.

Photo by Tolu Akinyemi 🇳🇬 on Unsplash

Why did you open the doors to the damnation of both our souls?

Perhaps in the squeaky cog of fate,

where chances, choices, and intentions collide;

Maybe for some of us, we’re just meant to float

With no one to hear and listen to our eyes groan and our souls whimper.

Tell me the secrets to unfurl your arms from my tainted soul,

Damned angels only love in spikes and splinters.

--

--

Daphne Ayo
MuserScribe

Me? I'm an italicized poet. Dog lover. Chocolate junkie. Here, is home to poetry, flash fiction, personal moments, and the musings of an oddball. Welcome!