GOTHIC FICTION — STORY OPENING

My Monster

What Have I Created?

Erica Neve
MuserScribe

--

Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

Hello, people of Medium! My name is Erica, I’m twelve years old and I LOVE to write! In my English lesson today my teacher told me to write a paragraph about a monster such as Frankenstein, as we’re learning about Gothic fiction. I’m very proud of what I wrote and I wanted to share it with all of you to see if you like it as much as I do!

Star line break

As the petrifying, yellow-skinned beast rose from its slumber my heart stopped. What have I created? What have I done?

My twisted desires had taken over my mind causing me to create this ghoulish creature, the one I wish could vanish. The one I wish I could forget about.

Just as my limbs regained movement the monster glared at me with a sinister look and I froze again. Did it know the one I wished to hurt? Or did it want to hurt me?

Either way, I knew I was in trouble.

Star line break

© Erica Neve 2024

Thank you very much for reading! I would love to know your opinions and anything you think I could improve on.

Have a wonderful day or night! 💞✨💞✨

--

--

Erica Neve
MuserScribe

Hello,I'm Erica (thought to be the youngest writer on Medium) and really like writing short stories and poems and my favourite books are the Hunger Games!