POETRY ON MEDIUM

Smile

What keeps me warm in winter

Ani Vals
MuserScribe

--

Photo by PodMatch on Unsplash

Everyone is looking for something to keep warm in the winter. And not only. When you’re cold, no matter the season, and you’re looking for human warmth, there’s something that warms you beyond words.

A smile.

It’s one that can warm you up in seconds. When it’s genuine, of course. And when it’s on the face of your loved one, it can give you wings. A smile has the amazing power to melt any distance between people.

That’s why I look for it, even when I’m offended or hurt. It is an inspiration, a strength, and a motivation to keep going.

And when there is no one to smile at you, just look in the mirror and do it for yourself because you deserve someone to smile at you every day.

I wonder what a nice smile is
and while I wonder,
I think of you
and how a smile is so much more
than a row of straight white teeth.

It is an attraction,
an impulse,
the squinted corners of the eyes,
barely noticeable dimples,
but they are there,
yes, they are there.

Your smile… it … breaks down
walls of ice and silence,
it melts every bad mood,
breaks chill,
and any misunderstanding.

It warms, even burns,
but you didn’t know you let it go easily.
I get hot,
my knees get soft,
my stomach clenches,
and my heart skips a beat.

But you don’t know,
it’s just a habit for you to smile
when you see me.
I smile back at you,
but storms are raging inside me.

Well, maybe someday I’ll confess to you,
I’ll write down what your smile means to me.
Maybe while you sleep I’ll say I love it.
That’s my reason for loving you.

More of my poetry here:

Poems by Ani Vals

38 stories

If you want to receive an email each time I post on my profile, you can follow me and subscribe here. 📩 ✍️

If you like to support me on my writing journey, you can buy me a coffee.☕️ I’d really appreciate it! ❤️️🙏

Thank you for reading and supporting MuserScribe. We publish five days a week — Monday to Friday inclusively 🖋️🌟📚

--

--

Ani Vals
MuserScribe

English teacher| writer| poet| passionate about creative writing, books, travelling, art, relationships, parenting, psychology and expressing personal insights.