Museum-a-Month: Baltimore Museum of Art

Kelsey S. Johnston
Museum and Millennial Musings
3 min readApr 30, 2018

So…I never claimed that this endeavor would be perfectly executed. March, and even the majority of April, was extremely hectic. I spent most of my free time at cultural events — that did not include museums. However, I wouldn’t trade seeing my favorite bands in concert or killer tickets to Hamilton in New York for the world!

Now I’m back on track! One of the best parts of my neighborhood is its proximity to the Baltimore Museum of Art. When I find myself with a free afternoon, I often walk down to see what’s new and, when the weather’s nice, stroll through the outdoor sculpture garden with an iced coffee in hand.

During my latest trip, I was blown away by Phaan Howng’s “The Succession of Nature.” This immersive installation depicts a world left behind by human destruction. An abandoned campsite is eerily illuminated and covered in the colors of toxic waste. The piece was done in collaboration with Blue Water Baltimore, a non-profit which aims to educate communities about the importance of protecting local waterways and environments.

The abandoned picnic table holds many books in which visitors can record how they protect the environment or draw, literally draw, attention to environmental hazards. It was inspiring to see many children’s drawings and handwritten notes about the importance of protecting natural habitats and the earth as a whole.

This form of interactivity was extremely low-tech and highly effective. I paged through many of the books while visiting the space, alongside children who were adding their own drawings and suggestions, while their parents read pamphlets on the table about how to protect Baltimore’s waterways.

From my work at the National Aquarium, I know how challenging it can be to connect city residents to the health of the urban environments. While my previous work approached the topic from more of a science perspective, it was interesting to see the same message be conveyed through art and free expression.

The dim, murky vibe of the space made me slightly fearful for the negative impact humans have had on the world. However, the engagement in the topic, demonstrated through the comments left in the many books on the table and conversations I overheard, made me hopeful for current and future generations to tackle pollution and climate change head-on. It was fascinating to see engagement with this topic in an art museum as I had only ever experienced similar dialogues in science settings. The experience further confirmed the power of mixed media to convey a powerful message.

I also couldn’t help myself from jumping on the latest local Instagram hype around the Tomás Saraceno installation Entangled Orbits. Mesmerizing.

Here’s to making more time for museums next month!

--

--

Kelsey S. Johnston
Museum and Millennial Musings

Digitally minded museum enthusiast and content strategist. Follow along as I share my museum and millennial musings!