A New Strategy for Crazy

And a song to bring you home

Nazneen Rahman
Music and Musings
3 min readSep 29, 2021

--

I had a crazy day on Tuesday. A dizzy, falling-up, messing-down, wearing different socks, on my ears, kind of day. Wednesday was crazier. Frankly, the whole week was discombobulating. And most of this year. And do not get me started on last year.

Is my whole life end-to-end crazy?

Is yours?

Crazy Kind of Life by Brigitta Both

Staying centered

I used to live in hope that tomorrow would be ‘not-crazy’. I wondered about the definition of ‘not-crazy’, before realising it was the definition of ‘tomorrow’ that was critical. Though I deluded myself otherwise, I was not using tomorrow to mean the day-after-today, I was using it to mean the day-that-never-comes.

This realisation brought a new hope and a new strategy.

The realisation, the inevitable interpretation of the evidence, was that I like crazy. I’m lucky enough to have choices and I often choose crazy. I rarely choose ‘not-crazy’. Life being crazy is not the problem, it is how I respond to it.

If I can stay centered, if I can find my way home, I am always fine.

I will always be fine.

Crazy Kind of Life was the song that came from these musings. It always brings me hope and always brings me home. My dear friend and super-talented artist Brigitta Both made the artwork for the track and the collage that accompanies this post.

Here are the lyrics

Another wasted day
Pushing back the tide
Another week watching egos sparring
Wondering where to hide
Another month of deadline chasing
Long into the night
Another year of thinking
One more push we’ll make it
Out into the light

It’s a crazy kind of life
It’s a funny way to pass the time
Pounding on the treadmill
Always walking uphill
Standing in line

Between the worries for the future
And the sorrows of the past
There’s no time for today
It’s crazy kind of life
But I always find my way

Home

Another morning when the
Rain won’t stop
But I’m dreaming of the sun
Razor-sharp, time-to-spare
Playing like I don’t care
Don’t ask those stupid questions
And I’ll give you perfect answers.

It’s a crazy kind of life
It’s a funny way to pass the time
Pounding on the treadmill
Always walking uphill
Standing in line

Between the worries for the future
And the sorrows of the past
There’s no time for today
It’s crazy kind of life
But I always find my way

Home

It’s a crazy kind of life
It’s a funny way to pass the time
Chasing dreams I never dreamed of
Can’t keep standing in line

Between the worries for the future
And the sorrows of the past
I’ve no time for today
It’s crazy kind of life
But I always find my way

Home

It’s crazy kind of life
But as long as you’re all right

I’m home

We all have different homes and different routes to get there. Take a little time to plan your journey for the tough and rough days when you can’t see beyond the end of your nose.

Maybe music can be your guide, as it is mine.

Nazneen Rahman is a Singer-Songwriter and has released four albums. You can find them here. Or wherever you listen to music. Subscribe to Yours Hopefully for weekly musings and music.

--

--

Nazneen Rahman
Music and Musings

Singer-Songwriter, Poet, Scientist, Doctor. Top writer in Music. Inspired by many.