Life update: August 2020

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training
5 min readSep 17, 2020

August 2020 is finished, and that means it’s time for another exciting life update!

Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment. — Jim Rohn

This is not at all the summer I was expecting or looking forward to (mostly because of COVID), but otherwise it was pleasant and stretching in all the right ways.

Here’s what happened in my life in August 2020:

Past Life Updates

Interested in finding out what led up to this point? Find links to past life updates here:

Life Update: July 2020
Life Update: June 2020
Life Update: July 2012

August 2020 at a Glance

August 2020 was the month of discipline and habit.

Much of my time went towards coursework and building my business.

I had a launch that didn’t go according to plain in July, though I was prepared for that outcome. And I didn’t dwell on it. I dove right into the next thing, which was mostly self-education.

Because I had started publishing daily at the end of July, that became a rather strong focus throughout August. I did not miss a day.

The result was change and growth.

I came out on the other end much more confident in my own abilities to make my dreams a reality. And I started getting out of my own way.

It’s crazy how easy it can be to get wrapped up in what you might think of as your own “genius”, but when you realize the wheels don’t need reinventing, all you truly need to do is follow a plan. Stick to the daily disciplines instead of trying to solve the world’s problems.

My birthday also came and went. It wasn’t a super special day by any means, but I did go to a Brazilian steakhouse with my best friend.

New Music in August 2020

Although I don’t have anything new to report on, I have been working on another solo single in addition to the comedic tribute to the 80s project I’ve been working on for a while.

New Blog Posts in July 2020

Until recently, most of my publishing has been on my personal blog or Medium. I’m planning to move that back over here to Music Entrepreneur HQ (now that I’m much clearer on my direction).

Repairing the foundation of the business continues, but overall I’m happy to report I’m seeing far more engagement, traffic, and sales.

DJ Equipment Guide: How to Build a Beginner DJ Setup

Looking to get started as a DJ? All good!

This DJ equipment guide will show you exactly what you need to get out there and get people dancing!

Promote Yourself

This post is an open invitation to promote yourself, your latest project, and to connect with anyone else that leaves a comment.

So, if you haven’t done so already, go and promote yourself!

New Podcast Episodes in August 2020

I’ve been tempted to put the podcast on hold multiple times this year, but somehow, I powered on through and managed to put together these episodes to continue to feed your addiction.

Subscribe to the podcast NOW >>

201 — When it’s Time to Pivot

Earlier, I mentioned the fact that I’ve been repairing the foundation of my business, and this episode of the podcast will give you a better idea of what’s been going on.

Also, if you’ve been trying something for a while and it just hasn’t been working, it may be time to consider pivoting, and this episode will fill you in on the details.

202–4 Ways to Integrate Music with Business Sooner

So, you’ve probably heard that it’s important to embrace the business side of music. But it’s easy to get stuck in that process.

In this episode of the podcast, I share how you can get up and running faster.

203 — Social Media Marketing for Musicians in 2020, 2021 & Beyond

Social media is a powerful tool when it comes to building a music career. But there are some common mistakes that need to be avoided if you want to make the most of it.

In this episode, I share some of my own thoughts on the matter, as well as what content marketing expert Joe Pulizzi had to say about it.

204–5 Challenges Lifestyle Musicians Face

Looking to create the life you want through music? Not exactly easy, is it?

In this episode, I reveal some of the top challenges you’re bound to face as you become the architect of your destiny.

Featured Product: The Music Entrepreneur Code

The Music Entrepreneur Code is available for just $5 right now and it comes with two bonuses. This offer expires September 30.

Featured Affiliate: The One Funnel Away Challenge

The One Funnel Away Challenge is the best marketing course I took this summer, and I would happily recommend it to anyone looking to gain competency in digital marketing and building funnels. It’s insane value.

Medium

At the end of July, I started publishing daily on Medium (as of this writing, I’ve been going for 45 consecutive days).

Somewhere amid that, I started publishing on my personal blog as well.

That meant I was publishing twice per day for a while (three times per day on days when I had a podcast episode go live)!

I decided that was kind of crazy.

So, I thought of a different, more sensible approach. I started publishing to my personal blog and syndicated the posts to Medium. After all, they let you do that!

That also means, in future life updates, I’ll probably be reporting on my stats rather than new stories on Medium.

Anyway, there are a few stories I wrote that are exclusive to Medium, so I’ll link them up here:

Conclusion, August 2020

In August 2020, I found a sense of confidence I hadn’t felt in a while. And it was apparent to my mastermind group and friends.

This had a lot to do with the coursework I did and the possibilities I started to see for myself.

This road has been difficult at times. Not everything has gone according to plan. And I’ve had to dive in and do some insanely hard work (repairing the foundations of a business is no laughing matter).

But here I am. I’m persevering. And I see myself getting to exactly where I want to be in less than a year from now.

Thanks for reading. See you again soon!

Get your FREE weekly action plan and grow your music career NOW.

Offer EXPIRES September 30: Get THE MUSIC ENTREPRENEUR CODE book and bonuses for just $5.

Originally published at https://www.musicentrepreneurhq.com on September 17, 2020.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.