My New Single, “Don’t Wait Too Long”

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training
3 min readAug 25, 2016

--

I ended up having to delay the release of my latest single, “Don’t Wait Too Long” for a month, because I was sick for about a week in July. But I’m pleased to announce that it’s finally here, ready for purchase.

One of the bands that has influenced me through the years is a little-known duo called They Might Be Giants. But even if you haven’t heard their name, you probably have heard their work, because their music has appeared in the likes of Austin Powers as well as Malcom in the Middle (the theme song, “Boss of Me” specifically).

TMBG is known for their quirky, sometimes cryptic lyrics that leave their songs open to listener interpretation. On occasion, I’ve been known to write songs like that too.

But more importantly, there’s a TMBG documentary called Gigantic (A Tale of Two Johns). It’s called a tale of two Johns because both of the founding partners are named John. In the documentary, they’re shown working on a song called “Man, It’s So Loud in Here.” Musically, “Don’t Wait Too Long” was inspired by this song.

What I like about “Man, It’s So Loud in Here” is that it has a really sparse and slightly ominous sounding verse, and an over-the-top, catchy and full chorus. I wanted to write a song like that, and that’s basically how “Don’t Wait Too Long” came about.

Like “Fragments”, the song was composed and written several years back. I also had the melody and lyrics for the chorus at that point, but they were set aside for some future day. Well, that day has finally come. I breathed life into the half-finished song by adding the verses and attaching real (?) VST plugin sounds to what were originally nothing more than MIDI keyboard sounds. Then I layered guitars and vocals. Finally, I mixed and mastered the track. And now it’s here.

Like a TMBG song, the lyrics are open to interpretation, but they aren’t terribly quirky. I think listeners will attach their own meaning to the song, and I don’t think any interpretation is wrong. You might conclude that the writer is waiting in vain, and you might also determine that s/he is justified in their faith. You might also conclude that they’ve found faith in their friend that’s clearly taken a turn for the worse (“What was the step that led you down into darkness?)”, in themselves, or in God.

Ultimately, I think it’s an uplifting song. But listening to it even made me a bit emotional. I hope you enjoy it, with all its beautiful flaws and imperfections.

You can learn more about how to listen to or buy the track here.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.