What’s the best way to get my music videos on Vevo?

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training
4 min readSep 13, 2020

Interested in getting your music videos on Vevo?

This question recently came my way (thanks for sending it over — please send more!).

And though I’ve answered it before, the nature of the question is slightly different, so I thought I would tackle it anew.

What is Vevo & Why Would You Want to Join?

Vevo is a popular video hosting service and it was established by the big three (Universal, Sony, and Warner). They host both signed and emerging independent content, so that’s good news for anyone with a music video they want to share and promote.

Vevo’s content is hosted on Vevo’s native platform, as well as on YouTube.

Further, they supposedly have the highest payout of any video hosting site out there, although based on my research one view is about the same as one stream on Spotify.

The Best Way to Get Your Music Video on Vevo

If you want to get your music videos on Vevo, you’ve got to utilize an official partner. Although there are no guarantees your content will be accepted (sadly), this is the only want to go about it.

I’ll tell you who I prefer, as well as why I prefer them.

I believe the best partner to go through is Ditto Music.

I say that because I hold Ditto Music in high regard. Their products — like Record Label in a Box — have repeatedly impressed me, and I even promote them regularly. I also have a personal relationship with some of the people at Ditto.

I’m sure all the other partners, like Vydia, Free Vevo, Symphonic Distribution, View Maniac, and others are fine. But I don’t know much about them, and in some cases, haven’t even heard of them.

Granted, Vevo does list several of these as official partners on their website.

But if we’re talking about the best way to get your music video on Vevo — it’s Ditto.

Can You Guarantee My Video Content Will be Accepted by Vevo?

No. So, please don’t come back and tell me I didn’t warn you.

Just because I think Ditto Music is the best way, doesn’t mean your content will 100% be accepted by Vevo.

My suggestion would be to exercise tenacity. If your first video fails, make another one. If that one doesn’t work, try again.

This is how I managed to get my websites listed in the Yahoo directory back in the day, and when you did that, you were rewarded with a ton of traffic!

Make progressively better music. Make progressively better music videos. Keep growing your fan base. Keep going, and if you fail, try again.

If I can do it, so can you. I believe in you!

How do I Prepare My Content to Meet Vevo Standards?

This is something you’ll be prompted to do upon signing up with an official partner. So, don’t ignore this!

Vevo requires that your video(s) be:

  • Full HD
  • Video Compression Type: H.264
  • File Format: .mov or .mp4
  • Dimensions: 1920×1080 (preferred) or 1280×720
  • Frame Rate: Native (No less than 23.98)
  • Quality: High (QT)
  • Bit Rate: Unrestricted (Minimum 7500 kb/s, if necessary)
  • De-interlaced file (no interlacing)
  • Multi-pass encoding preferred, single-pass encoding not
  • Audio formatted to AAVC in stereo with a sample rate of 44.100 kHz and bit rate of 320 kbps CBR

Avoid the use of webcam, flip cam, or iPhone footage, regardless of whether it’s HD.

If any of this confuses you, or you aren’t sure about it, ask your video editor for help. They should be able to help you sort it out. And if you don’t have one, maybe hire a freelancer on Upwork. It’s easy.

Vevo, Final Thoughts

I wish there’s more I could do to guarantee your content is accepted by Vevo, but there simply isn’t.

So, I wish you all the best. If you keep trying, and you keep getting better, and you keep growing your fan base, eventually, you will be accepted. It’s inevitable.

You need to have some perseverance with the music thing. Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Let me know if there’s anything I missed here, and I’m happy to tack it on to the post.

Shh… Don’t tell anyone. Only the cool kids are talking about it.

The Music Entrepreneur Code is my latest best-selling book, and it’s available here as well as on Amazon.

Originally published at https://davidandrewwiebe.com on September 13, 2020.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe
Music Business Training

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.