One | Music

My Story.

Priyanka
Music Fix
2 min readNov 3, 2019

--

Photo by israel palacio on Unsplash

I have had a great relationship with music from the time I was about nine months old. I have these old cassette tapes filled with my singing and I seemed like I was always enjoying it. Seeing my interest in music, I was enrolled in Carnatic music vocal classes, and my structured learning of music took flight. It was around the time I was six, I learnt my first English song. ‘Edelweiss’ from ‘The Sound of Music’ mesmerized me and I was hooked to Western style of music. I was part of my university choir as an Alto, part of college band and managed to even learn the veena in college. Over the years, music has been like a long distance friend - someone who is always available for you to have a chat with like nothing ever changed, someone who will always be there for you without ever judging how much you have changed, and someone who knows you for what you are.

In this series, I want to explore the many facets of music: genres, styles, origins, legendary musicians, the science, the math, the psychology. I want to know why music is so important to our lives. What makes a song/genre/band appealing to one person, and a source of disgust to another. What about a tune makes a person laugh or cry. And in the process maybe share some anecdotes, facts and all in all try to make sense of music.

--

--

Priyanka
Music Fix

“Happiness isn’t good enough for me, I demand euphoria”