Photo by rodrigoandrade from Pixabay

Workingman's Band — Soul Asylum

Keith R. Higgons
Music Matters
6 min readApr 26, 2019

--

Even though I’ve called the East Coast my home for well over half my life now, I am a Midwestern boy through and through.

One of the many traits we Midwesterners carry with us, no matter where we hang our hat, is our work ethic. It’s solid. It’s certainly something I’ve carried with me through the years and it’s definitely something I look for in others, regardless of profession . . . or gender.

I was once asked by someone I was dating what I loved about them. So I thought about it. I mean there were a lot of things, right? The usual stuff, intelligence, sense of humor, etc. After a lengthy pause I landed on “Well, you have a really solid work ethic.”

Turns out women don’t want “work ethic” to be an attractive attribute. At least not this particular woman.

Once upon a time, the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) in Minnesota was a music hotbed. But scenes are transient (think Seattle, Athens, Austin, etc.) and the scene moved on. However, Minnesotans are industrious folks and the Twin Cities soldiered on forging an even greater and more distinctive music scene. As well as legacy.

But I have to imagine being a musician from Minnesota is tough.

Think about it. The penultimate literary rock God, Bob Dylan is from Hibbing, Minnesota. In the Twin Cities, you find the…

--

--