The five-year conversation

ongoing conversations at my local music session

Rob Phippen
Music Sessioneers
1 min readMay 17, 2013

--

One of the reasons I love my local music session is the (forgive me, fellow sessioneers) slightly eccentric mix of people who turn up. It makes for some lovely and often faintly bizarre conversations. The other characteristic of these conversations is that they tend to be in rather short bursts, in the often minuscule moments after one person stops playing, and another begins. Many of these one-sentence exchanges turn into a ragged conversation that crosses from one session (ie week) to the next. All of which means that conversations can proceed at an astonishingly glacial pace. There is at least one that I see no chance of ending in the near future. Long may it last…

--

--

Rob Phippen
Music Sessioneers

Baldy, geek or possibly boffin; coffee addict, cycling fanatic, terrible but hopefully improving at drawing and painting, tin whistle player