Demi Lovato’s 8 Biggest Flops, Ranked

Taylor Henderson
Music & Tea
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2017

Before all the Demi stans start drafting their death threat tweets, let me just state that I am, in fact, a huge Lovatic. I’ve been following my fellow Texan’s career since ‘Don’t Forget”, I actually bought the Unbroken album, and I screamed “THIS IS REAL, THIS IS ME” at the Chipotle cashier who judged my order just last week.

But it’s impossible to say the former Disney star’s career hasn’t made some… questionable detours. So in lighthearted jest, here are eight Demi songs that flopped so hard it gave my whiplash.

8. Neon Lights

This song is a banger but stalled out at #36 on the charts. Regardless, this video of Laverne Cox crashing Demi’s interview with “BABY WHEN YOU LOOK UP AT THE SKY” still gives me life.

7. Really Don’t Care

The PRIDE themed music video and a gagworthy RuPaul’s Drag Race lipsync saved what other wise is a aggressively mediocre pop song.

6. Made In The USA

Just like Hilary, pandering to middle America did nothing for her career. I still play it at every 4th of July party though.

5. La La Land

Just look how big her mouth is in that thumbnail. “I’m not a supermodel, I still eat McDonald’s.” Iconic. Demi is serving vintage 2008 emo-rock vocals, but it sadly only peaked at #52.

4. Waitin For You

Me to this song:

3. Confident

While the music video is… cute, this Swiftian, feaux ‘Bad Blood’ female empowerment anthem and it’s let down of a chorus ultimately lacks any substance or bite. Demi’s killer vocals over that driving beat and marching band instrumentation are the only thing that launched the song into Top 40 radio.

2. Body Say

Um, WHY didn’t Demi promote this song? The track is sexy, fun, and a really great bop, but Demi’s flippancy left the track at a #84 peak. JUSTICE FOR BODY SAY!

  1. Stone Cold

Despite Demi shoving the song down our throats at every turn and even performing the song on Saturday Night Live, ‘Skyscraper Reborn, Depression Strikes Again’ refused to chart. The reason? It’s terrible.

If this article pissed you off, go listen to ‘You Don’t Do It For Me Anymore’ and stop letting your fave flop.

--

--