The Writing On Your Walls

Crafting songs from unusual prompts.

Julia Stier
Music Voices

--

Image from Canva

“I like girls with tattoos,” it read.

I stared down at the piece of paper in my hands. It was my freshman year of college at the University of Southern California, and there I was, sitting in my Songwriting I class, holding the prompt for the next song I was supposed to write.

I sighed, stumped. How would I turn this into a song?

This is the story of the creation of “The Writing On Your Walls,” my ode to tattoos.

My first recording session

My Start as a Songwriter

But, before I jump into the above story, let me tell you a little bit about myself.

I have had the privilege to study with some amazing songwriting teachers.

In high school, I began taking weekly classes with Renee’ Coale Willis. We would meet at her house every Saturday morning, and I would croon out my latest creation. It was Willis who introduced me to Bobby Flores at B.A.M. Studios, who would later go on to produce my first demo.

Willis is a passionate storyteller through song. Her song “Life Can Turn on a Dime” —…

--

--

Julia Stier
Music Voices

Julia Stier is an LA-based actress and playwright. She is also the creator and editor of Players, Performers, & Portrayers. juliastier.com