“Eyes Over the City” — Jonny Thorns (10/10)

JLD Music
Musical Mayhem
Published in
13 min readMar 3, 2024

Now, I’m not just giving Jonny this rating because we are friends, I really believe that this album is brilliant! There are so many great tracks on this album that need the exposure and the credit they deserve. It’s a well-produced album. As I personally know Jonny, I know how much of a perfectionist he is and that he didn’t want this album released until he was happy with every single detail. And all I can say is that he should be so proud of what he has created, and I can’t wait to hear what he has in store next. Jonny Thorns is a musician from County Durham; however, this is only in his spare time, which makes this production even more unbelievable.

1.One of a Kind”

Opening this album is “One of a Kind’, which starts with an acoustic guitar that sounds like it is being played from a distance. We are then hit with a catchy riff which is the focus of the instrumental, and the bass can also be heard adding a flavour to this section. The first verse portrays deep and meaningful lyrics, with a great line, “My heart lives on in fear just feeding off emotions”. The writer appears to be communicating with somebody who is no longer with us. Lyrically, the chorus is unbelievable and a great example of what’s to come throughout this album by Thorns. “You light up my life, even when you’re gone, you’re the brightest star, you will not be outshone” is a beautiful and sentimental line. I would also say that is my favorite line from track number one.

2.Believe”

This song starts off chilled, as it sounds like its softly strumming power chords on an acoustic guitar. I love the opening lyrics, “Coming out of hibernation, I waited till the coast was clear”. I also admire the feature of the guitar changing the note it plays after this line to round off the progression. A signature move of Thorns is to build the song up for a great chorus and this is a prime example of this. What creates this build is the transition from the verse to the pre-chorus, with the change in guitar chords. Track number two appears to have the message to believe, which can be heard in the chorus, “never stop believing”. It’s also got a positive vibe that even if life isn’t treating you well right now, it will get better if you believe it will. Throughout the verses, it feels stripped and laid back, but in the bridge and chorus, it has rock elements which are heard in the guitar and drums. My favorite line from this song is, “It’s not your dark days that define you, the chapters seen its curtain call, your dreams are left for you to pursue, don’t be the cause of your downfall”.

3.All I Ever Knew”

A very close contender for my favorite song of the album, however it just misses out! And to beat a track like this it’s going to take something. According to Apple Music, this was my sixth most listened to song in 2022. A drum kick beat simultaneously opens this track with vocals and a siren acoustic guitar effect. It’s an upbeat tune which is ironic for what the lyrics are suggesting. “You said I wouldn’t pay the price, but the antidote lies in your eyes” is another great example of the genius lyrics Thorns can produce, suggesting that the subject holds the power to make things better and without this person in the writer’s life, then he is going to pay the price. Again, another great segway into the pre-chorus builds this song up, as we hear the writer creating a sense of wanting past time to return, “To be nostalgic, we capture the magic of those times”. A rock guitar makes an appearance in the chorus, creating arguably the best chorus on this album, and I also love the guitar riff that exits this chorus into the second verse. When you listen to many songs on this album, you’ll recognize that Jonny loves to add a hooking bridge to lead back around to the chorus. It’s within this section where my favorite lyric can be heard, “All the times you stole my moment, but I’m laying down this burden that’s for certain”.

4.Redemption”

Ahh, what an unbelievable tune! My third most listened to track of 2022. When I first heard this song, I was astonished! I couldn’t believe that this was Jonny Thorns as I hadn’t really heard much of his own material at the point of hearing this and I had it on blast and on repeat for days on end. If you haven’t guessed already, this is my favourite track of the album. We’re instantly hit with a great rock sounding track, with the drums going mental and a catchy guitar chord progression. In the first verse, Thorns creates the image of losing a loved one and it is a section of the song that honours this life with love and respect. This can be seen in the lines, “Hanging to your final breath, heights turn into sudden depths, to leave a life with no regrets”. Another example of a smooth transition into the pre-chorus, where in this track, because you have heard how lively the introduction was, you’re waiting for that to return, and the tension is rising in this section of the song. One example of some of the beautifully written lyrics in this song are, “Moments that we gain perspective, stand as one as a collective, learning to expect the unexpected”. As the chorus plays out, we are accompanied by the return of the full rock sound with a really gripping segment of the song. After the second chorus, there is a flavourful guitar solo that fittingly leads back into the final chorus. Guitar riffs cry out in this last chorus, which is another great element to this song and is a great way to close track number four. My favorite line in this song is, “An everlasting memory, that’s with me for eternity, our destiny was granted your protection”.

5.Salvation”

Just like tracks three and four, this number was released as a single. “Salvation” is more of a chilled song in comparison to “Redemption”. A catchy guitar riff plays over the drums and acoustic guitar. I love the vocal line in the pre chorus of this song and the way Thorns sings, “The will too, continue”. I also rate the feature of the electric guitar subtly playing in the background, reminiscent of The Smiths. There are some powerful lyrics within the chorus, exploring how you need to keep going no matter what life throws at you. In the writer’s case, “If you sing then we’ll get through it”. It’s a line that stands out not just because it’s opening line of the chorus, but also because of how relatable it is. So many people turn to music to help them get through troubles. A great facet of the bridge is used in this song which progresses to the final chorus. Unlike the other choruses, it’s just the vocals and acoustic guitar playing for the first two lines. The drums then fall in, which creates a great listen to finish the song. My favourite line is, “Dozen’s they fall by the wayside, some who will swim, some will sink”.

6.Tomorrow”

What instantly stands out about this track is how strong the vocals are, and of course, he is singing great lyrics. A clean guitar is the only instrument played until the pre chorus, where the bass guitar follows the chords. The melody in both the pre-chorus and chorus are catchy and I’ve found myself singing it back. I love the lyrics, “Maybe I can see, your shadow, it’s all I’ll ever need, to follow”. This is a track where the writer portrays his vulnerability. A great feature in the second verse is the addition of the drums and electric guitar, adding great sounds, building up to a different sounding pre-chorus and chorus as previously heard. I applaud the effect that is on the electric guitar, it’s really adding a flavorful sound to the chorus. It’s worth noting that there is an acoustic version of this song, which is track fifteen. The line I admire the most on this track is, “Let me be someone, let’s not come undone, ’cause you make me feel electric”.

7.Heal Your Mind”

First, what stands out to me is the brightness of this song and the rhythm of the drums that drives throughout this song. Clean guitar riffs play throughout the introduction however they stop once the verse starts. Within the lyrics of the chorus, the writer seems to be suggesting to the subject that it’s okay if you’re heartbroken and if life feels like it has come to a standstill, if you try to get over what has happened and to “Heal your mind”, then life will get better. This is how I interpret this message and from this interpretation, I think it’s a beautiful message. I love the line in the pre-chorus, “I’ll sing it ‘till it sinks into your soul” because of the way the vocalist sings it. I admire the melody in this entire section of the song, and this is the line that opens it. Another feature of this track I rate is the outro. The drums continue to give it rhythm, the guitar is fading away and then suddenly the drums stop and it’s a great affect of the song drifting onto track number eight.

8.Side By Side”

The drums brilliantly open this track up with a chilled out rocky guitar riff to compliment just before Thorns begins to sing another touching line, “The desolate skies of the world make me feel like all hope is gone”. Like track number four, it appears that the writer is reflecting on the passing of a loved one with the tuneful music suggesting happiness. As the song transitions into the chorus, we are met with another catchy chorus, this time the melody plays the main part. Previously, I have written a song with Thorns before, so I know how important a catchy melody in the chorus is for him when he writes a song. I believe that the line, “And even if not in our lives, I’ll always be here to confide, one day we’ll be left standing side by side” is my favourite from this track. This is also the last line of the song which I think is fitting and then the song fades sharpish.

9.Day of Destiny”

What a brilliant introduction this song possess. It’s just strummed guitar chords with an effect on them and the last chord being minor sets up the song to go in any direction. It’s a strikingly fresh sounding song and I know it’s one Thorns is proud of. It’s filled with so many memorable melodies and lyrics, such as “The weight of the world is on your shoulders” and “Your every move the air you breathe, the truth and love my heart retrieves”. The song title itself means that something has come to an end, which could make this a song for a lost relative. This is also suggested in the line, “I’ll see you somewhere down the line, the healing process takes its time, I’ll always be around”. I would describe this track as a soft rock song. Track number sixteen is the acoustic version of this song.

10.Lonesome Town”

The vocals commence within the first two seconds of this song after a bar of acoustic guitar chords. A thumping rhythm from the bass drum is added early into the song which steps this track up another level. A ringing rhythm sound is produced from the higher strings on the acoustic guitar which is building tension. There is also the feature of harmonies which caught me off guard but in a good way, they’re a great addition to the track. Entering the chorus, a rocky guitar plays, and all elements of instruments are combining creating a chilled rock chorus. I think this is a tune that explores the vulnerability of the writer which is shown in the lines, “I’m at a loss with all of my universe” and “Just another drop left in the ocean”. As the song sees its ending, all that’s left is Jonny singing, “All that’s left is a lonesome town”, accompanied by his acoustic guitar. My favorite line from this track is, “You left away with all your beauty, shining for the whole world to see, and be one day when you see me, we’ll be strangers”.

11. “She’s Always There for Me”

I believe that this is one of the first tracks that Jonny ever had recorded. This is the first piece of original music I had heard of Jonny’s as there is a version of it on YouTube which was uploaded four years ago. Whenever I would meet with Jonny, we would always make puns about the song title when an opportunity arises, and now we have more tracks to make puns out of. It’s a drum heavy track, with elements of synth gently playing in the background. For me the best part of the song is the chorus, it’s just so simply catchy with the lyrics, “And she’s here to set me free, and I’m here down on my knees, I’m begging for release, she’s always there for me”. There is a great guitar solo just past the halfway point of the song which leads back to the pre-chorus. My favorite line from this track is, “Make this love go on forever, I can see it in the distance, oh so near”.

12. “Waited Here for You Forever”

Striking guitar chords open this song with the drums playing with a slightly gentler tone. Another great facet of harmonies can be heard in the opening verse. A thing that stands out for me in this song is the chord progression, it has a strong flow and transitions well into the different sections of the song. I infer the lyrics to be giving the idea that the writer is struggling to see where he stands with this person, and they appear to be making the writer chase them. As the song progresses, I believe that the writer is regretting the chase because of the way the subject makes them feel, an example of how the writer felt was, “Worthless”. However, the chorus very much suggests that no matter how this person makes him feel, playing the hard-to-get approach makes the writer want to wait here forever for this person. In the final chorus, Thorns adds backing vocals after some of the lines in this section. The song ends abruptly with a final stroke of the guitar after the repetition of, “Wait for you forever”. The line I admire the most in this track is, “It’s written all over your face, you’re a challenge but I have to say I love the chase”.

13. “Adulation”

“Adulation” really is a great track and deserves so much praise and recognition. Along with this, Thorns deserves credit for his songwriting abilities because this song is outstanding. A gripping guitar piece introduces us to this number and there is a smooth transition into verse one. I believe that the lyrics, “The thoughts concealed in your mind, the lighting strikes through your heart, you say one day your star will shine, your ship sets sail, lets disembark” are the best opening lyrics out of all the songs on this album. It’s evident that this is a personal song because of the line in the pre-chorus, “But these words are all true, I wrote them all for you”. Another terrific chorus from Jonny, a memorable one that I found myself singing after the first time of listening. I love the way this song breaks down before one final chorus. My favourite line is, “A life that’s lived in retrospect, a shadow of your former self, a moment best left to reflect, the lies we left upon the shelf”.

14. “The Way of the World”

I had to look twice at who’s song this was when I first heard it! An acoustic guitar opening inspired by Noel Gallagher who is a huge influence on Thorns as a musician and a songwriter. It’s a great chord progression to showcase Jonny’s creativity on this instrument. It’s a reality check song that says that is just the way life goes and we must get on with things. Jonny’s opening line is the song title which instantly draws a focus on the subject. It’s very much so a steady paced track. My favorite line from this track is, “What does the future hold? Who holds all of the facts?”.

The next three tracks on the album are acoustic versions of “Believe”, “Day of Destiny” and “Tomorrow”.

18. “Fade Away”

Again, we have another bright acoustic sound on a track, and I honestly think these types of songs are Jonny’s forte. In terms of the melody for this song, it’s outstanding, especially the way it changes on the repeated line, “And you know that”. I’d say that this line is the hooking line within his verses. A guitar gently picks the high strings in the verse after the first chorus which makes a tasteful instrumental. Just like many of the songs throughout the album, there is a great bridge. In the case of track eighteen, there is a moving line, “The demons to which we are bound, will beat a man to the ground”. This line really stood out to me when listening and is just the proof in the pudding that Jonny’s lyrical writing is great, and I can’t reiterate the point enough. My favorite line from this track is, “We argued, and we always fought, ’cause the drunken mind speaks the sober thoughts”.

This has been my favorite album I have reviewed so far. There is a sense of pride for Jonny because I know how much work went into this album and the outcome of it is phenomenal. I can’t stress enough how much more his name needs to be put out there, if you aren’t committed to listening to the full album then listen to tracks such as “Redemption”, “All I Ever Knew”, “Adulation” and “Day of Destiny”. From there I’m sure you’ll be hooked onto wanting to listen to the rest of the album. Also tell your family and friends about him, especially if you’re from the Northeast of England, because we have such a talented gem here. I’m excited for the future work that Jonny will bring out, and as luck would have it, his newest single called “Baptism of Fire” is out now!

--

--