Freedom Means Drinking From the Cup of Love and Loneliness

My life is in my hands, the way it should have always been.

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

--

Photo by Oziel Gómez: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-on-top-of-building-s-edge-1755385/

It’s almost 11 pm, and the city remains wildly awake. I can feel people’s fear in the air as police cars go around trying to put on a show of safety. Such is life in a Mexican border town that’s growing up too fast.

I’m sleepy but have so much to do I know I’ll fight to stay awake until I slump on my chair. So I make a cup of strong tea and grab a cigarette from a package I bought a few weeks ago that I hadn’t opened yet. I know; I shouldn’t smoke.

There’s a light breeze, and humidity floats in the air. I unlock the kitchen door and step outside my apartment to escape the humming of the air conditioner.

I light up my cigarette, and I sip my tea. My mind is a whirlwind, all thoughts shouting at the same time. I try to focus on the work ahead of me.

This will be a long night.

However, I end up thinking of love. After all, that’s the actual concern keeping me up right now.

I’m on the second floor, so I can comfortably admire the tiny piece of land I pay rent for. So many times, I have promised myself I will leave to go to a place with a more benevolent kind of weather. Enduring 110°F summers becomes…

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions