Goodbye, Yellow Sauna Box

We had a good run

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

--

Image courtesy Hogan Torah. I’m so glad Hogan and my car got to meet.

It was 2007 when this yellow sauna box entered my life. Well, in the beginning, it wasn’t a sauna box. Instead, it was a neat piece of German engineering…made in Brazil, but that’s beside the point.

My 2007 Volkswagen Crossfox made me proud to drive around town in all its yellow splendor. Back in the day, the AC blasted away, keeping me safe from the 110°F heat my city is known for.

It would get me to work, buy groceries, and we even took a few trips to San Diego, Ensenada, and the Sierra Juarez forest.

Yes, things were good back then…until they weren’t.

Things started going south.

A few years ago, my then-partner decided it was time to get our son a bike, and I fully agreed. He drove to the store in my car and came back with a brand new mountain bike peeking out of my car’s hatchback.

After he arrived, he approached me and said, “There was a tiny issue with your car.”

The car had a safety measure that locked all doors once it reached a certain speed. Since the hatchback stayed open the whole time, something got fried.

And that’s when things started going south.

Driving the car the correct way.

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Musing About…

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions