‘Will you now or in the future require sponsorship for employment visa status?’

Isha Hans
Musings and Reflections

--

The job anxieties of an immigrant

Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

As I see tons of layoffs going on currently, I feel especially blue for the pain experienced by immigrant workers, some might have just begun their journeys, some might have just started settling in and others might suddenly feel uprooted. For immigrants, losing a job comes with massive anxiety, and raises uncomfortable questions around identity, capabilities and what they can call ‘home’. I have been reflecting on the times that I’ve been very consciously aware of my status as an immigrant in the United States, have questioned my own abilities and wished I had more answers. Feel free to share or tag someone, who has the ability to create an ounce of impact in their organizations around these:

🤔 Was I rejected because of my skills or my immigration status?

While applying for jobs, there is always a question that I dread answering: ‘Will you now or in the future require sponsorship for employment visa status?’. It is a pretty straightforward question and I understand that not every company has the resources to go through immigration process, and some just include it to score ‘diversity, equity and inclusion’ points. When I receive a cookie-cutter rejection email, I’m curious to know…

--

--

Isha Hans
Musings and Reflections

Research-driven Designer, Thinker and Strategist with Entrepreneurship skills — https://www.ishahans.com/