Poetry challenge to bring the world together

Response to Jk Mansi’s challenge

Artemis Shishir
Musings from a Fallen God
1 min readNov 5, 2018

--

Image result for language

I came to know about the prompt this evening from my friend James Finn and I loved the idea so much that I had to write it down as soon as possible.

In her challenge, Jk Mansi posted a short verse in Hindi, translated it into English and challenged the polyglot writers of medium to translate it into other languages.

I copied down the poem in Hindi and the translated version in English and French version followed by my translation in Bengali.

Hindi

आगे के अँधेरे में
इक किरण सी दिखी है
और देखूं या ना देखूं
यही सोचती सी
खड़ी हूँ गुमसुम सी

English

In the darkness ahead
I have seen a ray of light
should I look or look away
wondering this
I stand here silent, undecided

French

Dans l’ombre en avant
J’ai vu un rayon de lumière
Devrais-je le regarder ou me détourner le regard
en me le demandant
Je me tiens debout, indécis.

My translation in Bengali

অন্ধকারের সমুখ হতে
চেযে দেখি এক আলোর রেখা
চ​াহিব কি চ​াহিব না
নীরবে দাঁড়াযে
ভাবি আমি তাই আনমনে

Ondhokarer somukh hote
cheye dekhi ek alor rekha
chahibo ki chahibo na
nirobe daraye
bhabi ami tai anmone

--

--