“You are a woman!”

ponetium
Musings from Mars
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2015

I am not a woman. I am NOT a woman. I AM NOT a woman.

I may pass as one, by sight or sound, but I am not a woman.

I am NOT she, girl, lady, woman. I may have breasts, or ovaries, or vulva. But my body does not define my identity.

My body makes me a biological female — at the end of the spectrum of femaleness (chromosomal, phenotype, hormonal, outer sex organs, etc’), but it have little to do with my identity and the way I see the world and feel it.

I never ever identified as a woman.

I am me. A person. A person who doesn’t identify as a woman, and who’s gender is non-binary. A person who uses they or ze as pronouns. I don’t like being told I am a woman, because it is not true. I also have some amount of gender dysphoria, but it is irrelevant.

What is relevant is that when you try to force a gender on me, you don’t see me as woman, because a woman is a kind of person. No, you see me as not-person.

You don’t respect me as a person, and you see me as someone who does not deserve to be talked to like a person.

So don’t you dare tell me I am a woman if I say otherwise. You have failed to see me a person.

So if you don’t see me as a person, why are you talking to me? I am not a person, remember?

Who exactly are you trying to reassure?

***

[Image description: A person passing as female that is seen through a round window. The person is underwater, and the glass seems very scratched. The person is wearing a swimming suit, and wears googles. their hair is dark, their skin is tan. They hold on the window and smile to the camera.]

Originally published at queerloli.wordpress.com on October 1, 2015. Moved to Wordpress on February 28th, 2017.

--

--

ponetium
Musings from Mars

practically no one. Part time research engineer in an agricultural lab, full time disabled queer in a golden cage build out of lies.