Secure me says…

Sky
Musings of a Codependent
2 min readMar 28, 2021
Photo by Nicolas Jossi on Unsplash

All is safe. All is well.

There is no fear. I am in control.

I feel like a lion dad overlooking the family and his cubs, content and with presence, calm.

It’s so different compared to when my inner child is reacting in fear, bawling their eyes out or feeling snarky feelings such as scarcity, victimization, and comparison.

I feel in safe waters, secure. My voice rumbles in a calm state.

Compared to my inner child, I am not ridden with anxiety, not needing to get into panic mode, not needing to escape or shut down, get up and leave, lock the doors and shut the rooms. None of that.

I am present, I know what I want, I do what I need, I don’t lack, I convey my truths.

I am secure when I am heard, when my needs are met, when I am affirmed. The exact opposite comes when I become my inner child — I feel scared, I feel like why can’t I feel my own feelings, why am I living for others, what is life for except for this, do I have to live like that every day; no, these aren’t my values; why should I bow down and be a pawn, I have my own stuff to do why am I doing yours, this is so hard, I want to go to bed and never wake up until somebody saves me, I want to hike into the mountains and run away.

I find that my inner child gets scared really easily, and when they get scared, they feel:-

  • Victimised
  • Laughs outside but degrades myself inside.
  • Anxious and panic.
  • Scarce. INCREDIBLY scarce.
  • Cannot look at people in the eye.
  • Fidget and fumble.
  • Shrink. Into the corners and darkness.
  • Needs and craves physical touch / affirmations.
  • Mind is “moggled”, unable to think clearly, feels like ‘shutting down’.

When I am secure, though, these thought patterns change. I am:-

  • Calm and collected.
  • Secure and wise.
  • Mature in emotions and articulation.
  • Speaking my truth.
  • Able to curate responses in a clear mind.
  • Able to give and receive with complete flow, without ‘clog’
  • Transparent and clear.

I really want to get to that secure stage. And today’s discovery was about me realizing that my insecure stages are completely triggered by my inner child. If I am able to do exactly the opposite of what my inner child would do whenever feelings strike, and tap into my Higher Power (a term where I call myself in a more secure state) — I would be able to see through all the different situations in life. And I honestly want to get there.

Let’s do this.

--

--

Sky
Musings of a Codependent

Hi, my name is Sky, and my mission is to be able to use my experiences to touch and empower souls. If it did, thank you.