About next week…

Maryam Umar
Musings of a perfectionist mind!
2 min readMay 1, 2018

So for those who know me, I really enjoy travelling.

I have a theory of not spending a single bank holiday at home. I only stay at home if we have visitors. Otherwise, I am off to explore a new city and a new culture.

Given it’s the month of May and the British weather doesn’t really permit for proper spring, I decided to head out to eastern Europe for an upcoming bank holiday.

I had an interesting situation though after I booked this break.

I got accepted in a diversity scholarship for a software craftsmanship conference called Craft-Conf in Budapest! What this meant was that I get the conference fee waived off. Woop! I only needed to arrange my flights and accommodation. I was already rallying for attendance at the this conference which didn’t seem to move forward….but now I had the scholarship and all I had to do was secure a spot in the 2 workshops I am very keen to attend. These were quite cheap @$330 each. (Yes, that’s cheap compared to the wealth of knowledge you gain).

So I quickly moved to secure a spot in one of the workshops by Linda Rising on Tips from Psychology for Problem-solving. I am a huge fan of how to use psychology in better decision-making especially when it comes to software projects and more importantly software engineers.

There’s more to this story though. The other workshop I wanted to attend was by Dan North. He is extremely popular in the world of BDD and testing practices. Another reason why he is popular is because of the beautiful way he formulates a topic and takes his audience on a journey. As it turned out, his workshop got sold out really quickly :(. Fortunately, I have been in touch with Dan on some of my other musings….so I emailed him. And being the nice guy he is (and of-course the conference organisers), I have secured a spot for his workshop, Testing, faster as well!!! Double woop!!!

So next week, is going to be a week of:

  • flights
  • packing
  • pictures
  • food
  • and a tremendous amount of learning!!!!

--

--