Coaching

I have been toying with the idea of being coached since July. It’s when I did the Playful leadership course and realised that in order to help coach others, I need to help myself first.

Maryam Umar
Musings of a perfectionist mind!
3 min readOct 15, 2019

--

Coaching does not suggest solutions to issues. It helps you discover your own way of improving and tackling issues. Some of it also helps you understand and view a third person’s perspective on how what you are thinking about actually looks on the outside.

Finding a good coach is essential to helping you on this journey. I was recently speaking to a friend and they mentioned that they know someone who does holistic coaching. The idea sounded appealing to me as I am spiritual to some extent and some of the things i do in life are because we need to do more for the greater good of the world around us.

I spoke to N* over a hangouts call about 2 weeks ago. I felt an instant sense of calm and ease as soon as we started our conversation. I felt safe. I felt no judgement. I knew I wanted them to be my coach. And hopefully a friend too.

Before our first session, N* sent me the ‘Wheel of Life’ to try and understand what areas I want to start working on.

I had to score each of the areas to understand what I wanted to work on. To my surprise, I scored really low on Support, Self-kindness and Boundaries. I was aware of other low scoring areas already but not these. I also discovered that I probably don’t realise my boundaries are clear to me until they have been crossed (which is too late).

I had my first session today. I had forgotten that when i did coaching last year, I found it emotionally taxing. Coaching enables you to surface what’s deep inside you. I felt emotional during my session with N*. I was surprised I kept composure. They reminded me that I am actually very strong for the roles I play in my life.

I don’t really talk about the pain I have inside me and the amount of hurt built up inside. I know I need to start relying more on myself than seeking support externally. I know I am slowly burning out as my body has a way of informing me of this.

I left the session feeling….unusual. I don’t think I had an emotion. My only objective was to get home. I realised that I felt sad. Mainly because I spoke a lot about hurt. And the need to be seen. And acknowledged.

I was tired. All I wanted was some warm food and a hot shower.

However, later on in the evening I realised….my body has started detoxing. The first step in solving a problem is accepting that there is a problem. And I feel there are multiple factors I can work on for myself. I am confident that, although this is taxing, I will be able to overcome some of the things above with N*’s help.

I need to continue on this journey. And not for anyone else, but myself.

--

--