Anecdotes to the book Foundations of Data Science- A product of Microsoft Research by Avrim Blum, John Hopcroft, and Ravindran Kannan

Vivek Das
Musing’s of a Data Scientist in Medicine
1 min readJun 16, 2019

Attributes: Crisp, to the point, already outlining the basics & foundations of data science plus the pdf book. This should rest all the confusions otherwise we have when we don’t want to accept it as a discipline and run into age-old denials. (Did not change much from my LinkedIn post apart from Grammarly edits) Source for the original post is here.

Below are the insights I echo with:

  1. Its foundation lies in mathematics, statistics & computer science. It’s not always linearized, nor structured but it’s in vectors that are the starting point/instruction sets of any problem solving or datasets for a problem in query.
  2. Now which disciplines & what particular problem it addresses is a subject matter concern.
  3. For me, it’s a discipline that feeds as a horizontal for many verticals of industry or academic subject matters to bring in solutions based on knowledge-driven & data-driven concepts. My current domain of Bioinformatics aiding to identify targets or novel biomarkers in the pharmaceutical industry is no exception. I use this horizontal of data science as well.
  4. It is not magic, it’s mathematics & statistics!

Book link: Foundations of Data Science

Video link: Microsoft Research Video

Disclaimer: I have not read the book yet to its entirety. No harm to try though.

--

--

Vivek Das
Musing’s of a Data Scientist in Medicine

I am interested in Precision & Personalized Medicine. I use my skills in Biomarkers & Target Discovery employing Integrative Computational Systems Medicine.