Lady Bits

Stacey Mulcahy
Musings of the Interactive Variety
1 min readJun 23, 2014

Most women in tech, don’t want to speak about women in tech. They are people in tech, and as people in tech, they want to speak about tech. No one says “Know what would make for a great technical talk? My ovaries.”

I know it is an important topic. But when I see those invites to talk about being a “women in tech”, I begin to wonder what my vagina has done to be held in higher esteem than my brain.

I don’t need to speak about being a woman in tech. If you want to know, ask me. But put me in front of an audience and ask me to be an authority on a topic, I’d rather it be on the basis of intellectual contributions rather than my lady bits. At least I can navigate tech with some degree of professionalism.

--

--

Stacey Mulcahy
Musings of the Interactive Variety

taut follower. All opinions here are definitely anyones but mine.