The Internet Of Things Is Coming

Or Maybe It’s Here Already…

Will Moore
Musings On Technology
4 min readNov 26, 2013

--

As I sit at my desk, I am surrounded by devices that connect to the Internet. Some are obvious, such as my iMac or iPhone, while others have somehow snuck in under the radar. A quick ping of my local network reveals that there are twenty or so devices, all vying for their apportioned chunk of broadband goodness.

I’ve written before about various aspects of the Internet of things (IoT), but I specifically wanted to get my thoughts down on the concept as a whole and where it needs to go if it will ever reign supreme.

If you haven’t heard of it, IoT is a broad term for describing the ecosystem surrounding uniquely identifiable Internet connected devices.
Now the concept is nothing new, however perceptions around it are changing. IoT is no longer the preserve of a geeky sub-culture, with doors, lights and stereos all connected via a network of Arduinos and Raspberry Pi’s linked by metres of ethernet cable, but one that is being opened up to the masses, and that is changing the world we live in - one piece of hardware at a time.

Humble beginnings

I remember the first time I used a Wi-Fi network. It was around 2003, shortly after I moved into my first proper house (well one where I paid the ISP bill anyway).

I was amazed at how I could be connected to the web, yet not be tethered to a corner of my room to browse.

It was a feeling I got the first time I browsed the proper Internet on a mobile device, or the first time I uploaded a photo from my phone. In our modern connected society, it’s important to remember the special moments, how technology adds to our lives.

In my opinion, and one of many others I’m sure, wireless networking, twinned with ever increasing broadband speeds was a turning point for connected devices; it took the computer out of the office and placed it in any room of the house.That simple act changed the Internet from something you go to, to something that goes with you.

Skip forward ten years, and technology has evolved at hyper-speed. The presence of the Internet is taken as a given, and web connected devices have entered our lives, not with fanfare, but as a subtle change in the way things are done.

Let me give an example. A couple of years ago, our hi-fi was on it’s last legs and needed replacing. Instead of going for another run of the mill amplifier/CD/tuner combo, we chose a Sonos system. This decision wasn’t made as a pioneer of IoT, but simply because it was the best system available and it happened to be connected to the web.

Two years later, and Sonos has evolved, giving access to Internet radio and of course Spotify, as well as locally stored music on our NAS.

What does the future hold for IoT?

I do of course still own connected gadgets that sit on the geekier end of the spectrum, such as my Netatmo weather station, or my Little Printer, but these devices only serve as precursors to the possibilities of IoT.

When printed material isn’t a necessity, it suddenly becomes a joyful discovery again.

The Little Printer prints off personalised, curated newspapers every day. These include my friends’ Foursquare activity, or the latest info on Bitcoin and stocks, but the best parts are the things you don’t expect — the weekly Mr Men character, or seasonal food guide.

The Little Printer is a fun device, but what it symbolises is a time when everything we consume is personal to us. We all believe that print is dying, but I actually think print will make a huge comeback, but only when it is relevant again. The Little Printer proves print can still be compelling, but only when it is a tailored experience.

Other devices such as the aforementioned Netatmo, or Tado connected heating system show the possibilities of a web connected, monitored home that responds to your movements.

The connected home concept is an article for another day, but the early players in this market are starting to make real waves in bringing IoT into everyday life.

Standardisation for the nation

One thing that is becoming quickly apparent is that there needs to be an over-riding infrastructure that dictates how all these devices communicate.

In this one article alone, I have listed at least five providers, ranging from hardware builders, to software developers and everything in between.

Organisations such as the Zigbee Alliance have shown how things can talk to each other and work together, but this still isn’t enough. Other services such as IFTTT skip over standards and provide an interface to connect devices and services based on certain parameters (If the door is unlocked, turn on the light etc) but again this is still in its infancy and needs mass adoption by hardware and software makers.

Maturing standards in both hardware and software will define how well IoT will work on a day-to-day basis.My iPhone home screen has six apps for controlling various things around the home — I look forward to the day I can do it all from one.

The Internet of Things is such an exciting space right now, and one that will remain a passion of mine for the foreseeable future. As part of my job I have had the chance to meet with a number of great startups in this space, and based on what I have seen, I have no doubt that the best is yet to come for IoT.

--

--

Will Moore
Musings On Technology

Bearded Communicator @Agilebits (maker of the amazing @1Password) Aspiring filmmaker | Currently learning concertina and thinking about the future