You are Powerful

Itohan Odekunle
Musings
Published in
4 min readAug 4, 2020

In my last post, I highlighted the importance of speaking up and speaking out, which I know is neither an easy thing to do nor popular. I pride myself in being practical and balanced in my approach to most things and will generally be quite clear on the pros and cons in most scenarios. So over the last few weeks, I have pondered on the question:

how best I can make a difference and add real value to the lives that I am privileged to touch?

When I look outwards, it seems that there are more challenges than anyone could even think up solutions for much less start to implement. I have to admit that there is a temptation sometimes, to keep my head down and coast through life, grateful to lay in bed at the end of each day, thankful that my family is safe and healthy.

Now there is nothing wrong with gratitude for getting through another day, week or month but niggling at the back of my mind is the knowledge that perhaps there is more I could do. Maybe, I needn’t ‘batten down the hatches’ as tight as I was doing and if I push myself a bit more then I could make the journey easier for one more person.

In turbulent times, the need for a human connection and compassion has never been more apparent. I have found myself overwhelmed by the magnitude of challenges that so many people face; every death represents a family’s loss, every job loss a human cost multiplied across families and communities not just here but the world over. Yet through the gloom, there are pockets of goodness that continue to shine through, stories of local heroes, individuals just like you and I who choose to do ‘their bit’ to make life easier for others. People wresting control from the presumed narrative and making decisions that inspire others to smile, hope and more importantly do more!

As I ponder on what I could do with the tools available to me, the story of Queen Esther in the Holy Bible comes to mind. It’s a riveting story of a young migrant girl who finds herself whisked off to a harem where she keeps her head down and plays by the rules, eventually making something of herself. Shortly afterwards, her hard-won respite from what must have seemed like a lifetime of upheaval is under threat, and suddenly, the fate of her entire race rests on her shoulders. In that moment when she recognises that she is neither powerless, voiceless nor ‘just lucky’; all that she has experienced up tot his point, has been a training ground for her calling. She finds her purpose and courage to make a difference.

The lesson from Esther’s life reminds me of a training session I attended recently about being a conscientious ‘upstander’ rather than just going through life as a bystander. Too often the voices in our heads are the ones telling us that we are ‘Just’ a ‘tiny inconsequential girl who is just lucky to be where we are. We remember the magnitude of the ‘issues’ that concern us and how improbable it is that even if we tried, we could also make a difference. That voice often wants to keep us cowered and conformed, towing the ‘party line’ or ‘not rocking’ the boat afraid of the consequences. That voice is wrong, ‘we are strong, we are brave, and we have the power to make a change’ one step at a time.

I am continually teaching my children to be aware of what is going on around us so that they are educated and informed. However, I am careful to balance this with positive reinforcement that though there may be big things like a global pandemic which we cannot control there are things we can do and should do. Yes, we may not be to do as many things as before, we can however adapt and make sure we still show kindness, think of others feelings even when we are hurt (ok, that lesson needs a lot more reinforcing, but in their defence, they are 7 and 3 years and have spent more time together in the last 4–5 months than in a year combined!). By highlighting the opportunity, they have to continue to make a difference even within their reduced social circle; I am reminded that I too have no excuse to withhold a helping hand or lend my voice.

Opening our eyes to the challenge’s others face and looking inwards and outwards for a solution is the first step we can take to start to wrest control back. WE don’t have to have all the answers but merely speaking up sometimes, letting that stressed co-worker know that someone cares /sees them, having a private word with that manager about what some call banter but some may find toxic. Finding a cause to support that could help a family or someone make a bit of sense of their lives is priceless. When we take those little steps to reclaim our humanity and to show compassion we take back control and reinforce the truth that every single person has value and when we find a purpose that is bigger than just us we create the space to thrive and to begin to discover the many facets to who we are capable of being.

As the world slowly gets to grips with the pandemic and starts to regain a modicum of normalcy, I want to encourage you to take a good look in the mirror and realise that you can make a difference, you can be the solution, and all it takes is some empathy and a whole lot of courage to step out of your comfort zone.

Next one: tuning out and tuning in

--

--

Itohan Odekunle
Musings
Editor for

Mum, Wife, Human, Commercial & Procurement Solicitor