Every worse decision can be turn into a good decision — Faizi Khan

Sarah Peracha
Muslim Business Women
6 min readDec 4, 2017

--

When we travel around the world, we got to know more people, and when we travel through internet we meet more innovative personals and in this interview you will read a life of a girl who is motivated, charming and had dreams to conquer the world. Let’s read that how she saw her life.
Question: Tell us a little about yourself, your background and your motivations?
Faizi Khan: I am originally from UP, completed my schooling from Dehradun
(Doon International school). My father is a retd. Professor of English and
History and mother is a homemaker and a social worker.
Both my parents are feminists and supports in bringing women empowerment more in the society. Since childhood I have been into street plays, performing arts (as my father used to direct the plays), we have performed the plays (Nukkad Nataks) in the remote villages of UP to awaken the society.
I have done MCA ( Masters in Computer Applications),After campus placement from University, I joined a reputed MNC but after working 3 years in MNC corporate culture I realized It was not meant for me. So I started exploring more what I like and what makes me happy.
So now I work as an Event Manager of a Life Coach i.e Jasmin Waldmann, I take care of the events happening all over India and my role improves me day by day personally as well.
Parents still don’t find it good to express that I left an MNC job that is considered to be more secure (as per society) but I am sure they will understand it one day, its more about happiness! other than professional stuffs, I like reading, writing, running to keep myself fit and meeting new people.
My motivations are my parents who have always supported me in my actions and have taught me to live the life of truth and honesty. My father, Mohd. Usman Khan, is a public speaker and his 2 mins of speech changes peoples’ life, whatever he speaks is full of revolution.
He belongs to a very small town of Agra, he started teachings kids when he was in class 9th, since that time he has changed the thinking of lakhs of students and taught them what was correct for them.
My mother, Naseema Usman is an epitome of courage and empowerment when it comes to all the women in India. She has fought for the rights of women throughout her life and stood for the elections, she is the state member of AIDWA (All India Democratic Women Association).

My motivations has been everyone whom I have met in life and they have made a change to the society. As we say “the purpose of life is a life of purpose”.

Image Courtesy: Faizi Khan

Question: What are your key duties in your home?
Faizi Khan:
It has been almost 14 years I am staying away from my home. However whenever I go to home I support my family the way they want. When my maid is not at home, I become the maid and take care of cleanliness of the home.
I love giving massage to my mother’s knees with her oil, it brings smile to her and the chit chat of mother daughter goes on!! She says I am really great at hair massage (champi) and the paer maalish ( Leg massage).
I love spending time with my father the most, his every action whether reading a book for us during tea time or maybe telling an experience, really makes a difference in my life! I am an introvert kind of person, so I prefer talking and spending time with my family in my beautiful hometown.
Question:
What was your dream job as a kid and why?
Faizi Khan: As a kid I wanted to be a professor as my father, because he was changing the old thinking of people for the new and progressive one, everyone has considered him as their “ideal”. So I wanted to be the same.
Question: Do you think that we can change ratio of women into the industry and how?
Faizi Khan: Yes, we can change by providing them right education and freedom to do things. Not cutting their wings just for the sake of society, our so called dialogues “log kya kahenge”.
Question: What do you think is the most significant barrier to female leadership?
Faizi Khan: I think the most significant barrier to female leadership is not getting the support of society, there are times family supports them but society finds ways to suppress them. She is a girl, she should not do this..she should not fight for herself etc,this all has to go.

Image Courtesy: Faizi Khan

Question: What is the scope of women in this industry especially in your country?
Faizi Khan: I believe, the scope of women in this industry is really good if she has been provided support and platform to do things the right way! In India, there are girls from many cultures, castes, creed, diversities that their passion and power can bring wonders to the whole system.
The way a girl/women does a work is full of perfection and along with the minute detail, women deserves the platform as they are born perfectionists.
Question: What is the best and worst decision you’ve ever made?
Faizi Khan: I believe every worse decision can be turn into a good decision, I have made few decisions that turned bad for me but gave me lessons for life.
I have worked in MNCs for 3 years, since the 1st day I knew I was not enjoying the work, but kept on doing it because we are so called taught to “adjust” as thousands to people also do the same.
I got frustrated at times from the schedule that affected me mentally and physically, but continued as it was a secure job and I was so called adjusting!!
I believe choosing the corporate job was a bad decision, but I must say the experience has really given me a lot, now I know what is good for me, and everyone doesn’t fits in the job, other person do.
Everyone has a unique caliber and identity, so “quiting the MNC job” is the best decision I have made in my life so far.
I took a stand for myself, leaving the barriers of secure job, adjusting in the schedule, corporate culture etc,, after all life is more than a job!
Now I am in the Event Management of Life Coaching, it makes me happy every day, I feel free everyday I start my work and end my work. Afte rall its all about being happy and exploring ourselves.
My CEO of the company Jasmin Waldmann (Life Coach) is an amazing lady who has really changed my life with excitement and happiness!

Image Courtesy: Faizi Khan

Question: What woman inspires you and why?
Faizi Khan: Every woman who makes a difference in someone’s life (obviously without hurting anyone) is a hero to me! Because they are quite different to come out of their normal comfort zone and make a change in the world.
Question: What will be the biggest challenge for the generation of women behind you?
Faizi Khan: The biggest challenge would be finding out what they want from life, listening to the inner voice, irrespective of thousand distractions!
It sounds super simple but this takes a life time to understand if not understood properly!!
Question: What would you like to advise to Muslim women in business?
Faizi Khan: I am too young to advise though, but yeah

“Always listen to your inner voice, the fire inside you should never stop burning! You are much more than what you appear,,go out spread your wings,,the world is all yours”

I am a fan of Faiz Ahmed Faiz sahab, would like to end with his famous poem’s line “Bol k lab azaad hain tere”!!

--

--