It’s a Two way Street to Change Ratio of Women — Sehrish Iftikhar

Sarah Peracha
Muslim Business Women
5 min readJan 26, 2017

--

Today, you are going to read an inspiring journey of a young female developer and technical trainer from Pakistan. She has been prove her self as a hard-working girl in her industry. I had a Ten Q&A’s with her in which she gave one of the tweaking answers. Her stance was grasping the root troubles of the Muslim Women in Business. As she is one of them who worked hard and sacrificed to made their dreams come true. Let’s have a detail read of her journey and thoughts.
Question: Tell us a little about yourself, your background and your motivations?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
I am a graduate from the University of Engineering and Technology (UET) with a degree in Computer Science. I’ve been working at Nextbridge (Pvt) Ltd for almost 3 years as a Lead Plugin Developer, Technical Support Lead, Technical Trainer and WP Plugin Repo Manager. During this time, I’ve been trained in plugin development and technical support by our General Manager Fahad Shakeel. One of my greatest accomplishments, during my professional career as a developer, has been the Simple Job Board plugin. It has received commendation from the global WordPress community and my peers. Finally this solution stands as a 2nd largest recruitment solution within WordPress worldwide.
I have always been driven to create and solve problems. My major motivation comes from teachers, friends and mentors that have guided and supported me throughout my career.
I don’t belong to a fancy family with lucrative lifestyle — I never knew the communication & delivery trends worldwide, all I learned at my own in just less than 2 years to meet the requirements of our support communication & design language.
Question: What are your key duties in your home?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
My key duties at home are to guide my siblings in the right direction whether it’s related to academics, career counseling or even their personal lives. Whenever I have time to spare, I help my mother in household chores.
Although my family is more like a traditional south-Asian family but I wasn’t born to be a cook that’s what I don’t practice. But I am more passionate about my work so often at home I take care for our product support and customer communication.
Question: What was your dream job as a kid and why?
Sehrish Iftikhar: My dream job as a kid was to become an Engineer (even though I wasn’t exactly sure what an engineer was at the time). I would cross the UET campus on the way to visit my grandmother often and I spent my time in counting its name tiles on the walls of the university barrier. It always drew me and I aspired to gain admission one day.
However, I’m the first lady in my family that actually pursued a professional degree & built own career. I have seen the Engineers break stereotypical barriers throughout my life; whether it is in the entertainment industry or civic development. So, my understanding of what an Engineer is capable of is definitely more holistic.

In the below query you will read that Sehrish tweak “It’s a two way street; we can only change the ratio of women in the industry by having more skillful and knowledgeable women”.

Question: Do you think that we can change ratio of women into the industry and how?
Sehrish Iftikhar: Yes, but it’s a two way street; we can only change the ratio of women in the industry by having more skillful and knowledgeable women, who are ready to sacrifice their comfort and devote their life to hard work. Similarly the industry must accommodate their efforts by providing them security, comfort and motivation in their professional environment. On the other hand — it’s also true that a lot of women never know their capabilities. They have never been explored by industry or themselves by not willing. A few case-studies on different mediums would definitely motivate them to come forward and test the waters.
Question: What do you think is the most significant barrier to female leadership?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
One of the most significant barriers to female leadership, in my opinion, is the lack of encouragement. Due to this reason, many women believe that a female can never lead. They feel somewhat inadequate internally, and to confirm this self-doubt, our society fails to support them. Nextbridge provides an equal chances of leadership to all of it’s employees despite gender. Their culture helped a lot of male employees to consider my role on the top of them.
Question: What is the scope of women in this industry especially in your country?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
Nowadays In Pakistan, women are working shoulder to shoulder with men. As tech industries are trying to make a bridge for removing gender bias. Women are getting comparatively equal opportunities in every field especially in IT. Women can be seen in all major fields of computer science.
Question: What is the best and worst decision you’ve ever made?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
The best decision I have ever made was to chose Computer Engineering as my professional field even when I had multiple options like; Civil, Petroleum, Industrial & Manufacturing, Chemical and Architectural Engineering.
As far as the worst decision I ever made is considered; I’m not a person that believes in regrets. Looking back I like to motivated by all my life choices no matter what the outcome as it has made me who I am today.
Question: What woman inspires you and why?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
Although, there are numerous successful and talented ladies out there that are a source of inspiration for me, I would consider Fatima Rizwan as one of my most prominent inspirations. She is one of the youngest and most famous female entrepreneurs out there and requires little introduction. She inspires me because of the obstacles she has overcome. She started working on TechJuice alongside a full time employee in a Software House. She is so dedicated and passionate about her innovative ideas that she eventually became the CEO of TechJuice. Due to her dedicated efforts, she was able to take TechJuice forward. Today, under her leadership the TechJuice team is bringing forward new ideas in technology space across Pakistan.
Question: What will be the biggest challenge for the generation of women behind you?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
It is common for females to face challenges when balancing a career with their personal life, especially when dealing with the traditional role of wife and mother. They have responsibilities upon their shoulders other than ‘tech world’ problems. I believe a woman can do everything under the sun whether it is related to technology or the home. But the biggest challenge for a woman to manage both things simultaneously is keeping a balance.
Question: What would you like to advise to Muslim women in business?
Sehrish Iftikhar:
Find your passion and then pick an industry related to that.

Fight till the very last breath of your life.

Work hard, be honest and always stay connected to successful people. Get inspiration from the lives and acts of female leaders across the globe as it gives you higher self-esteem to rise as a powerful woman.

--

--