Breaking Free from the Need for Approval

Elizabeth Oluwatosin
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readAug 19, 2024
Photo by Arnaud Mesureur on Unsplash

Have you ever found yourself constantly trying to please others, only to feel drained and unfulfilled? I know I have. For years, I struggled with people-pleasing, always trying to fit into someone else's mold of what I should be. But one day, I realized that I was wasting my time and energy trying to please everyone else instead of focusing on what God wanted for my life.

The dangers of people-pleasing are real. When we try to please everyone else, we can lose sight of who God created us to be. We become chameleons, changing our colors to fit in with the crowd. We're afraid of what others might think, so we play it safe and miss out on God's best. We're so busy trying to fit in that we forget to stand out.

But here's the truth: you can't please everybody. It's impossible, so why try? Instead, focus on pleasing God and being true to yourself. You don't need everyone's approval to be worthy. God's approval is all that matters. And rejection? It won't ruin your life. In fact, rejection can often lead to new opportunities and growth.

So, how do we break free from the need for approval? We start by focusing on God's approval. Remember, "If God is for us, who can be against us?" (Romans 8:31 TEV) We need to be true to ourselves, not trying to be someone we're not. We need to be authentic and genuine, and let our true self shine.

Setting boundaries is also crucial. We need to learn to say no to things that don't align with our values and passions. We need to protect our time and energy from those who would seek to drain us. And we need to surround ourselves with positive influences, people who uplift and encourage us, rather than those who bring us down.

For me, breaking free from the need for approval was a journey. I had to realize that I had a choice to make. I could continue to try to please everyone else, or I could focus on pleasing God and being true to myself. I chose the latter, and it was incredibly liberating. I started to pursue my passions and interests, even if they weren't popular with everyone else. I learned to say no to things that didn't align with my values and yes to things that brought me joy.

As I looked to God for approval, I found that I was no longer controlled by what others thought of me. I was free to be me, and that was an incredible feeling.

Breaking free from the need for approval is a journey, but it's worth it. When we focus on pleasing God and being true to ourselves, we can live a life of freedom and fulfillment. Remember, nobody can make you feel inferior unless you give them permission. So, don't give them permission! Instead, choose to focus on God's approval and live a life that's authentic and meaningful.

--

--

Elizabeth Oluwatosin
Mustard Seed Sentinel

passionate Christian writer, exploring faith and inspiration through words. Join me on a journey of Christian wisdom.