Don’t Lose Your Peace

Babajide Dalley
Mustard Seed Sentinel
5 min readFeb 25, 2024
Peace (Photo by Javardh on Unsplash)

Amazing times are here, literally, in Nigeria and many other countries of the world. Today, I am writing to those who are in bad situations, terrible circumstances, and tough seasons. I am writing this to strengthen you and give you reassurance.

It’s easy to comfort others when they go through tough situations. We feel like we have the right words and keep telling these sorts of people “It will be well”, “Man up”, “You have cried long enough”, these sorts of words and phrases. It gets very easy when we are not on the receiving side.

However, through experience, I have learnt that storms are very real. Life situations that threaten to steal our peace happen so often and we have to be grounded in God’s peace. I have learnt that some people cry themselves to sleep every night, I have learnt that life can truly be hard for some, I have seen some people go through situations where it seems like God has departed from them. I can see my country, Nigeria, and the way the average person is suffering bitterly, not being able to afford even a single meal per day. It is established that people are going through a lot and their peace is being attacked. These situations are real and many are going through them daily.

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Even Jesus tells us that in this world, there will be trouble and tribulation. So this is inexcusable.

Respite (Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash)

The Peace Of God

However, I’m not just here to let you know that there will be troubles. I am here to let us know that there is a Father above who is able to enter into what we pass through. When I read the Bible sometimes I think, how can He get into what I feel as a person when He’s up there on His throne and exalted? But I get reassured, that Jesus came to the earth in flesh. He came as a man and went through some of the worst pain the earth has ever recorded. He was flogged, spat on, jested at, and naked, all this while He was completely innocent. I think one of the most annoying things in this life is to suffer for what you are innocent of. So Jesus had His unfair share of trouble and storms.

Christian, in this period if you are one of those that are going through tough times, I encourage you to do all you can to hold onto the peace that God gives. The situation may not change immediately, but if you lose the peace that God gives you, you may just have lost and surrendered to the storm. While going through a storm, it is typical to have that issue or problem you are going through to take up residence in your mind for an unhealthy amount of time. However, this is not God’s pattern for you.

His pattern for you is peace. He does not promise us a smooth ride on earth. He does not promise that everything will be rosy and smooth, but He promises His peace. Christian! Yes, I admit you are going through troubles, some of them unreasonable, I admit you may be going through life hard but don’t you lose your peace. This is God’s gift to you. However, one thing I find is that this peace will be fought against while the storm rages. If you are in a hard place, or a fix, I encourage you to find time to dwell in God's Presence more and more. This is not the time to be checking the news updates, further trying to steal your peace. This is the time to stay and just dwell. The only way you can hold on tangibly to the peace He gives to you is to stay where He is. Look at the verse below;

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3

This means that even in the stormy season, Abba can keep you in perfect peace if your mind is stayed on Him. If you can hide yourself in His Presence, in His Word, worshipping Him, not diminishing the fact that the storm is there but letting Abba know you trust Him through the storm. Even when it is painful and hard. See even Jesus, when He knew He was about to go through a hard time, He stayed exceedingly in God’s Presence and Abba gave Him the strength to go through it all. It was not easy, but He won with the peace of God.

Keep your heart with all diligence and don’t give in to the storm.

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all. 2 Thessalonians 3:16

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Colossians 3:15

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7

I show you a better way Christian, rather than cry yourself to sleep, why not cry in the Presence of the One whose love for you is unparalleled, where there is no condemnation but rather refreshment and strength? Instead of trying to wing it based on your wisdom and strength, go into His Presence and take the peace He’s willingly given to you.

Finally, I pray for you the words of Philippians 4:7 — And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Amen!

--

--