Forgiven Much

Love the Lord Jesus Christ

Justin Heines
Mustard Seed Sentinel
2 min readApr 21, 2024

--

Photo by shahin khalaji on Unsplash

”Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven — as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”“

Luke 7:44–47 NIV

We can only speculate the profession of this “woman of the city.” Whatever she did, it was clearly sinful, and she was clearly known for what she did. She was recognized by many, including the Pharisees. ‭

Simon, the Pharisee, looked at her as if she was a dog that belonged outside the city gates. Like a worm that didn’t deserve to even eat scraps that he drops.

On top of that, Simon thought Jesus was a fool. If only he knew who this woman was.

But Jesus did know who she was. She was a child of God. Clearly, not from birth, but based on her actions, we can see that she had repented and had been forgiven.

Jesus knew this woman and knew the evil thoughts Simon had about her. He is no ignorant Pharisee, after all. She may have been one thing in the past, but now she loves me.

Simon treated Jesus like a Moabite while this woman treated him like the savior that he is.

She loved him much because she had been forgiven much.

Question: What does the hospitality of Simon (or lack thereof), say about the condition of his soul?

Even if we know the past of those who kneel at the alter, we must remember: Never judge those that weep at the feet of our savior JESUS CHRIST.

--

--

Justin Heines
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Hello! I'm and a Christian currently serving as a volunteer at my local church. I love writing about the Word of God and sharing my experiences with others.