Getting Healed As A Christian: Does the Bible Give Us A Strategy?

Ross Thompson
Mustard Seed Sentinel
5 min readMay 12, 2024

--

Will God Heal Me?

Microsoft CoPilot AI by the Author

This topic has been front and center for me lately. Over the years God has healed me on many occasions. Presently I have a hip malfunction that will not go away. I am getting by with it, but it is has become a major impediment to normal living. In my opinion, healing by God is a pretty straight forward topic in the New Testament. The activity Jesus did the most was healing. At least two passages in the Gospels say ‘and He healed them all.’ Nowhere can you find a passage where Jesus refused to heal a person.

Isaiah 53, which is the list of all we received from Jesus atonement, says in verse 5 ‘..and by His stripes we are healed.’ Mathew 8:16,17 confirms that. That evening they brought to him many who were oppressed by demons, and he cast out the spirits with a word and healed all who were sick. This was to fulfill what was spoken by the prophet Isaiah: “He took our illnesses and bore our diseases.” Therefore I think we can safely reckon on the fact, God wants too, and will, heal me.

Ok, but what about me and my sore hip. I have asked God to heal it, reminding Him of the many verses in His word that make it clear He is willing. Maybe many of us know of a Christian or Christians, who are not getting healed. Some may have even died. I think this reveals a zone of…

--

--

Ross Thompson
Mustard Seed Sentinel

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.