Is the Bible Still Relevant Today?

Living in a Bible-dismissive society

Jenny Calvert
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Photo by Bethany Laird on Unsplash

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Hebrews 4:12

There was a time when you went to the library or a bookstore if you wanted a book. If you wanted to read the Bible, you probably owned only one, The King James Bible. Now we live in a time of instant information with our computers and search engines. Every book or Bible rendition is as close as a click of a key.

Some find the Bible outdated, out of touch, contradictory, and confusing. If I use the scripture as apologetics, some people roll their eyes in distaste.

There are many things I ignore from the pages of the Bible. I do not cover my head in church or sit quietly, never saying a word. I may not recognize the Jewish feasts but will feast on bacon. I have also cooked, cleaned, and done laundry on the Sabbath.

So it would appear as if I neglect the Bible’s teaching, disregard things that do not align with my philosophical beliefs, and skim over discrepancies, making it look outdated and antiquated. I’m sure to be on the list of Dan Foster’s satire “A Definite List of Those Going to Hell.”

I’m being silly!

The point of the Bible is not about hell’s punishment. In fact, most renditions make no mention of hell in the Old Testament and the New only 12–13 times. However, love’s redemption is woven throughout the pages. In the English Standard Version, love is mentioned 684 times. Now that is significant!

Like the Beatles’ song, All We Need Is Love; we can’t live without it. I need it. You need it. We all need it.

2 Timothy 3:16 says that the word helps to teach, rebuke, train, and correct. Psalms 119:130 says that the word brings light and understanding, and Proverbs says we receive wisdom and knowledge from God’s word.

The Bible says that hiding its words in our hearts helps us to resist sin. Also, The Bible points us to strength, peace, joy, love, and direction; best of all, it tells us about God’s grace through Christ Jesus.

I believe the Bible is still relevant as I receive words of wisdom to battle this day and age that we live, even as a woman in this century. Times are complex, and I need the meat of the word to sustain and revive me.

I go into its pages daily. I would not think of going a day without rest, drink, or food, so why would I neglect the spiritual nourishment I find in God’s word?

Yes, many practices mentioned in the Bible are outdated, and some are even outlawed. However, we can’t go wrong as long as we hermeneutically view God as love. Operating through that love channel will direct our thought processes as we read the pages of this old book.

A little story

My dad taught me God’s word when I was a little girl. Dad was the pastor at a small country church. He would have me read out loud his Sunday message before church. I struggled with his small fragmented sentences, but Dad was patient and kind. I felt honored to help him. I thought Dad was rehearsing, but years later, he told me he did it for me, not him.

Here I thought I was helping Dad when he was helping me. Dad was nurturing me in God’s word, and for that, I am grateful.

If the Bible seems contradictory, don’t get hung up on those things. It’s the story of God’s great love for us. That is what we glean from its pages. Everything else falls into line when we live within the parameters of that love. Read the Bible and decide if it is still relevant.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.