Looking at Cancer in the Rearview Mirror

Lessons learned while battling cancer.

Doris Rouse
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readDec 17, 2023

--

Photo by Kalle Kortelainen on Unsplash

Thirty-one years ago this month, I found myself in the arena with the beast we call “cancer.”

What I experienced dealing with the reality of this horrendous “enemy” is not something I would ever want to go through again. But I wouldn’t trade what I learned during this ordeal, either.

In looking back over that season in my life and the years that have followed, I have learned many things:

1. Each day is a gift from God. Because my primary role on earth is to honor and glorify Him, each day is an opportunity to do just that — through my attitude, my words, and my actions.

“For you were bought at a price; therefore, glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.”
1 Corinthians 6:20

2. Everywhere I look, there’s evidence of God’s mercy, love and grace. Thus, the need to thank Him daily for His faithfulness.

“Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions they fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.”
Lamentations 3:22–23

3. Coming to terms with my mortality was made easier when I found peace and assurance in the biblical promise of eternal life with Jesus Christ.

--

--

Doris Rouse
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Christ-follower, retired teacher, longtime cancer survivor, inspirational writer; author of "Reflection" poetry books. See www.prayerandreflections.com.