Not in the Mood?

When you don’t feel inspired to write.

Doris Rouse
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

Nothing is more frustrating than sitting down to write and NOTHING coming to mind!

Most people assume writers run on “automatic” and are always prepared with pen in hand to produce words of value, wisdom, or entertainment to share with others.

But such is not always the case, at least not for me! Can you identify?

While many roll out one or more articles a day, I have been experiencing a ‘dry spell’ and have posted the least number of posts this past month since I began writing on Medium.

At times this lack of inspiration is due to unexpected demands that keep me too busy to write — i.e. spring cleaning, gardening, calls for help from others, etc.
Busyness will definitely hinder creative thoughts.

At other times, I am just too tired to concentrate. But, to be honest, there are times when I am just not ‘in the mood’!

A recent Medium post prompted me to address this issue:

--

--

Doris Rouse
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Christ-follower, retired teacher, longtime cancer survivor, inspirational writer; author of "Reflection" poetry books. See www.prayerandreflections.com.