Riding Out the Storm Under a Blanket

--

a large tornado heading across farmland
Photo by Greg Johnson on Unsplash

As a 7-year-old, the quick flashes of lightning followed by loud crashes of thunder were frightening.

Despite the fact that our two-story house offered protection from the storm, I was scared.

Our farm was in wide open country, where wheat fields stretched out as far as the eye could see. Tornadoes were a common occurrence, so storms were taken seriously.

I built myself a little fort by draping a blanket over my little table in the living room. I took some of my stuffed animals to wait out the storm with me. It made me feel protected like I was sitting in a safe area where the storm couldn’t find me.

In reality, my flimsy blanket would do nothing to safeguard me from any tornado but I still felt some comfort by sitting under a covering.

As Christians, we have a much more secure shelter in God.

There is no storm too dark, too violent, or too big for God to calm in our lives.

The Bible explains the security and comfort of abiding in the presence of God.

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
My God, in Him I will trust.”
Surely He shall deliver you from the snare of the fowler
And from the perilous pestilence.
Psalm 91:1–3 (NKJV)

As Christians, we abide in the shadow of the Almighty where He is our refuge and fortress. We can trust in Him.

What storm are you going through today?

There is no problem too big and no circumstance too hard for Him to help us through.

God is our faithful shield and protector. He will provide comfort, hope, help, healing, and anything else we need.

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear,
Even though the earth be removed,
And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Psalm 46:1–2 (NKJV)

Dear Lord, help me turn to You with all that I’m going through. Calm my fears and help me trust in You.

If you enjoyed this and would like to receive my weekly devotional, please subscribe.

I also host a 4-minute weekly podcast called Kate’s Devotional Podcast, which can be found on Apple, Spotify, or wherever you find podcasts.

I have published “In Times Like These: 30 Mini-Devotionals for Those With a Loved One Facing Terminal Illness,” which is available as an eBook or paperback on Amazon.

Originally published at https://katedreston.substack.com.

--

--

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Kate Dreston is a published devotional writer providing Bible-based encouragement in an easy-to-understand and down-to-earth way.