The Controversy of Catachresis

Samuel Wilson
Mustard Seed Sentinel
8 min readMay 7, 2024

--

The Degradation of Meaning in a Culture of Confusion

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

A Remedial Lesson on Definitions

Catachresis: the use of a word in a way that is not correct.

Phobia: to have an extreme or irrational fear of something.

Dissention: to have a strong difference of opinion on a particular subject, especially about an official suggestion, plan, or popular belief.

I have a minor phobia of spiders. Spiders will send goosebumps up and down my arms, cause me to jokingly gag about being too close to them, and generally avoid them if at all possible.

Their sudden aggressively jumpy movements unnerve me. I think it’s because these movements are unpredictable, rapid, and could lead to a bite if I am too close. That being said, I am not of the dissenting opinion that spiders are awful creatures and should be eradicated, far from it in fact. I know they contribute greatly to the functioning of the ecosystem and in turn human society. I know they protect me from viruses carried by other creatures like mosquitoes and I for one am 100% for avoiding as many mosquito bites as I can. Pick my poison I guess.

In regards to a different category, I do not have a phobia of the government paying off my student loans. My initial reaction to that would…

--

--

Samuel Wilson
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Oklahoman with a passion for using the written word as both a vessel to delight in creativity and to understand the world throgh the the Light of Christ Jesus.