What Amazing Idea Did I get From the Story of Naaman in the Bible?

How reading the Bible can help us in our daily lives

Janis Cox
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readSep 25, 2023

--

https://www.freebibleimages.org/

When I started reading the Bible in a year, chronologically — I had great plans to share each book or character with you. But I got side-lined with sinusitis and am only now getting back into writing.

The story of Naaman (2 Kings 5:1–15, The Message)

A few days ago, we finished reading the story of Naaman.

In the kingdom of Aram, Naaman was the commander of the king’s army. He married one of the captives from Samaria. She knew about a prophet who had healed others and told her husband he should visit him. Naaman had leprosy (an incurable disease in those days).

Naaman asked permission from the king of Aram and he told him to go to the king of Israel. But the king told him he did not know how to cure him.

Elisha, the prophet, heard about Naaman and sent a messenger to Naaman telling him to go and wash in the river Jordan seven times. After some persuasion by his officers, he did and was cured.

My story

I read this passage years ago. But God spoke to me that time. It wasn’t just a story. God wanted me to know Him more. I had very…

--

--

Janis Cox
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com