What makes the perfect Friend?

--

Made in Canva, photo credit: Johnce from Getty Images Signature

A 2021 American Perspectives Survey shows Americans report fewer close friendships than ever.

Many feel if they could find a close friend who truly cares about them, life would not feel sad or lonely.

The good news is believers in Christ already have a friend who is eager to develop a deeper relationship with them.

Here are just a few of the many reasons God is the perfect friend:

His Availability

Jesus is there for us every minute of every day.

If one of my friends called me at 3:00 a.m., I would be irritated. If it wasn’t an emergency, I would be mad.

That is never the case with Jesus. He encourages us to come to Him any time, day or night.

“Behold, He who keeps Israel
Shall neither slumber nor sleep.”
Psalm 121:4 (NKJV)

It’s very comforting to know God is always there when I call on His name.

His Empathy

Christ cares for us more than we can comprehend.

Even our closest friends can’t completely understand us. They can never know exactly how we think or feel.

This is never an issue with God. He created us, He knows everything about us.

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.”
Psalm 139:1, 3b, 4 (NASB 1995)

It’s so reassuring to know our Lord cares about us in spite of our faults.

His Dependability

Everyone has been let down by a friend at some point. We aren’t perfect, it happens.

God will never let us down.

“As for God, His way is perfect;
The word of the Lord is proven;
He is a shield to all who trust in Him.”
Psalm 18:30 (NKJV)

We can completely depend on the Savior.

He makes life worth living.

He brings meaning to our existence.

No one will find a better friend.

Lord, thank you for your unwavering love and friendship. I am so blessed to be called your child. I love you and praise you because of who You are. Amen.

If you enjoyed this and would like to receive my weekly devotional, please subscribe.

I also host a 4-minute weekly podcast called Kate’s Devotional Podcast, which can be found on Apple, Spotify, or wherever you find podcasts.

I have published “In Times Like These: 30 Mini-Devotionals for Those With a Loved One Facing Terminal Illness,” which is available as an eBook or paperback on Amazon.

Originally published at https://katedreston.substack.com.

--

--

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
Mustard Seed Sentinel

Kate Dreston is a published devotional writer providing Bible-based encouragement in an easy-to-understand and down-to-earth way.