*What’s Wrong With Me?

Have you ever wondered?

Dawn Ulmer
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Photo by the author

It had been a really rough couple of weeks.

I’d had a chest x-ray which showed that I had pneumonia. That is why I felt so horrible for weeks!

Antibiotics were ordered and taken with another x-ray done to determine if my lungs were clear.

I waited…and waited. There were no x-ray results visible online in my medical account. I wanted to know if I could resume ‘normal’ life.

I waited some more, finding out that it was taking 20 days for x-ray results to be available. Ugh!

In the meantime, I received an online message from one of the nurses at my physician’s office. She set up a time to call me the next day at a certain time. What could be WRONG that a nurse needed to call me???

I waited and waited for her phone call that never came.

I was informed, online, that the nurse would call the NEXT day at a certain time. Yet I wanted to know NOW! I wanted to talk with her NOW.

I finally prayerfully sat down to try to figure out what I was FEELING and THINKING because I knew things were ‘off’ with me.

I tried to label what I was feeling and thinking. I finally realized that it was

IMPATIENCE!

What is the opposite of impatience…OH, it’s PATIENCE!

Certainly the over-the-top impatient feelings weren’t helping me — spirit, soul or body. My anxiety had been increasing and I knew that was NOT good for me, especially if I still had pneumonia.

NO, Impatience is NOT from. God but PATIENCE is!

But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, PEACE, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.… Galatians 5:22

The next morning I received a call from the nurse. Was it about the x-ray results? NO. It was about an entirely different health issue. My questions about the x-ray went unanswered but, because the Lord had reminded me that PATIENCE was part of the Holy Spirit’s fruit in my life, I was at peace. I could wait in peace!

Whether we become impatient with a traffic signal that stays red too long or impatient with a child who moves too slowly in the morning or…YOU fill in the blank. When we sense that we are thinking impatient thoughts, it’s time to STOP, realize why you feel that way and prayerfully take it to the Lord so that He can, by His Holy Spirit, turn it around and into His peace.

This week has not gone ‘my way’ but I am at peace, thanks be to God!

The key factor is to allow the Holy Spirit to control our lives!

God Himself, in the Person of the Holy Spirit, controls all of the details of your life. As you walk with Him, He will guide your every thought to bring about peace within.

Then you will know that everything is right with you!

Please SUBSCRIBE if you want to read more from me. Thank you for reading!

Dawn Ulmer, a retired Registered Nurse, has enjoyed writing since the age of 19 when she wrote ‘My Philosophy of Nursing’. After marrying and becoming a mother, she developed a newsletter for young mothers called ‘Moms and Sidekicks’. She has been a columnist for a women’s newspaper in Grand Rapids, Michigan on the subject of time management. From that column, her first book was written and published: “Balance of the Hurried Woman”. Through the years, she has been published in ‘Decision’ magazine, ‘Our Daily Bread’ devotional and other publications. Presently, she is enjoying writing on Medium, her favorite platform.

If you would like to be added or deleted from my list, please let me know.

Alma Curry Doris Rouse Ken Van Camp Mary Papas Sharon Hillam Jemimah Susie Winfield Haley K. Julie KingGood Lee Byrd Lu Skerdoo Rosa Diaz-Casal Nikita Rayne Johnson Leslie Flemons Sami Writes Órla K.

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
Mustard Seed Sentinel

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!