"Will This Glorify Jesus"?

A Question You Need To Ask Yourself Before Doing Anything.

HER🦋
Mustard Seed Sentinel
3 min readDec 15, 2023

--

Photo by Daniel Gonzalez on Unsplash

I was 10 years old, the first time I had someone say words similar to that. She made an acronym WWJD: What would Jesus Do?

At that point In time, I didn't know how much those words weighed. I didn't know it was so much more. I hadn't really put it into practice before. That was until some weeks back.

I resumed school some months back. School had me in so many situations, that I'm proud to have gotten through. In so many situations I couldn't control. I Wouldn't bother myself by overthinking. The only thing ringing in my head was "What would Jesus Do".

My Physics lecturer as people will say "He’s wicked. He never really teaches. He doesn’t know how to explain". Not only that, but he told us he was going to make the test difficult and be was going to set only theory questions, nothing like objective questions. Was I ready for the test? Definitely. Was I getting scared?? Of course!! People were complaining and getting all frustrated.

I never really liked the idea of letting something I can’t control frustrate me. So I just stayed calm. Got back to my hostel to see people still on the topic. I walked past them, to get to my room. I said a word of prayer, and it hit me.

"What would Jesus do"

Get scared for a test??
Go write the test with confidence??
Allow a non-living thing have dominion over Him??
Underestimate Himself??
Would Jesus give up??

At that point, I wanted to cry so much. Not because I was scared or tired or anything like that. But because I knew God was there. And nothing could surpass that feeling.

I stay at a hostel. My first ever hostel experience, it was enjoyable, full of laughter, smiles, anger and definitely arguments. My patience and anger was continuously being tested.

My roommate noticed I'm quick to anger, she always tells me to control it. I had gotten angry at her, was I able to control it?? A little. Could I have controlled it a lot better?? Definitely!! But baby steps, was what I told myself.

Some days before I left school, one of my hostel mates came into our room. She kept saying and doing so many annoying things, we told her to leave. She wouldn’t listen. To be honest at that point, I wanted to smash a plate on her head. But then It came to me.

"What would Jesus Do"

Immediately I felt peace course through my body. It felt so surreal, cause how would anger disappear in less than a second.

I have given God a million reasons not to love me. None of them changed His mind.

Anytime you find yourself in situations that bring about confusion and anger. Just keep ringing it in your head" What would Jesus Do"?? Don't allow the situation to dominate you. Would you break down and tell yourself, you can't do it?? Would Jesus break down?? You may not get an answer at that exact point or time or place. But you are bound to get an answer.

Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as of nothing had yet been done.

Photo by Max LaRochelle on Unsplash

The storm will always come, but He Will always show up.

  • What would Jesus Do?

--

--

HER🦋
Mustard Seed Sentinel

I write because I don't know what I think until I read what I write